Library Guides: Plant Sciences Research Guide: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the resource guide for Plant Sciences, Horticulture, Botany, Plant Biology, and Plant Pathology at Montana State University. This guide provides a variety of resources for people in agriculture, including article databases, journals, government information, and websites. Comments and suggestions are welcome.

Digital Handout (Accessible PDF)

HANDOUT: Plant Sciences Digital Handout (Accessible PDF)
Download the accessible PDF.

Suggested Databases for Plant Sciences

The following databases include information about plant science or related fields:

ACSESS Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
- This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Grow: Plant Health Exchange
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Journals and Books
- This link opens in a new window
The library has recently modified its Elsevier journal subscription. We've introduced a new article delivery service, 'Get This Article Now,' to assist current MSU students, staff, and faculty in obtaining access to journal articles not directly available through our subscription.
For more information about this service, please visit the library's website.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR)
- This link opens in a new window
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive literature in the environmental sciences (1960 - current)
Includes the following databases:
- AGRICOLA
- TOXLINE
- ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management)
- Environmental Impact Statements (EIS)
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Large, combined database of scholarly articles, books, and data sets (1637 - current)

Full list of Plant Sciences databases

Agriculture Terms and Vocabulary

Agriculture Thesaurus and Glossary
The Thesaurus and Glossary are online vocabulary tools of agricultural terms in English and Spanish, hosted by the National Agriculture Library.
Sustainable Agriculture: Definitions and Terms
From the USDA National Agriculture Library.
AGROVOC
AGROVOC is a controlled vocabulary covering all areas of interest of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations, including food, nutrition, agriculture, fisheries, forestry, environment etc. It is published by FAO and edited by a community of experts.

Additional Agriculture Guides

Use these additional library guides to find information about specific areas of agriculture and agricultural research.

Agriculture Resources
Find books, articles, census and statistical data, news services, extension, information networks, reports, and weather.
Soil Surveys
A guide to help locate soil surveys in Renne Library and online.
Sustainable Food and Bioenergy Systems
Landscape Architecture
Includes resources on Landscape Architecture and Design.
Montana Extension Service Publications
This guide serves as an index to Extension Service publications from 1915 to present. For current extension publications, please visit www.msuextension.org

Agriculture Image Collections

Biodiversity Heritage Library Flickr Collections
This Flickr page provides free access to over 65,000 illustrations selected from books digitized by Biodiversity Heritage Library. The images span over five hundred years and represent most types of organisms.
ARS-USDA Image Gallery
Searchable gallery of animals, crops, fruits and vegetables, insects, field research, lab research, and more.
SNAP-Ed Connection: Photo Gallery
The digital images found in the SNAP Photo Gallery are available for free use. FNS requests that these pictures be used only for promotion, informational and educational purposes of a non-profit nature.
NRCS Photo Gallery
The NRCS Photo Gallery contains natural resource and conservation related photos from across the USA. Use of the images is free, but attribution is required. See the home page for more information on attribution formats.
NYPL Digital Collections
The NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.