Library Guides: Plant Sciences Research Guide: Weeds & Pests

Weed and Pest Sciences at MSU

The Weed and Invasive Plant Ecology and Management Group at Montana State University combines the interests and research of six tenured faculty and numerous research faculty and scientists, post-docs, graduate and undergraduate students. Our research ranges in scale from molecular to landscape. We study agroecosystems, rangelands and wildland with the underlying theme that a base of ecological knowledge will improve our ability to manage these ecosystems. We recognize that non-native and other undesirable plant species cannot be efficiently managed without understanding the processes that influence their assemblage of traits, abundance, distribution and impact on ecosystems.

The MSU Entomology Group is made up of faculty from three College of Agriculture departments: Animal and Range Sciences, Land Resources and Environmental Science, and Plant Sciences and Plant Pathology. Faculty research encompasses many areas including beetle systematics, biological control of insects and weeds, host plant resistance, insect herbivory, insect behavior and ecology (pollination, foraging), risk assessment, plant/insect semiochemical interactions, and stored-product entomology.

Online Resources for Weeds and Pests

Biological Control: A Guide to Natural Enemies in North America
This guide provides photographs and descriptions of biological control (or biocontrol) agents of insect, disease, and weed pests in North America. It is also a tutorial on the concept and practice of biological control and integrated pest management (IPM). Whether you are an educator, a commercial grower, a student, a researcher, a land manager, or an extension or regulatory agent, we hope you will find this information useful. The guide currently includes individual pages of over 100 natural enemies of pest species, and we envision continued expansion.
Biorationals: Ecological Pest Management Database
Global Invasive Species Database
The Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) aims to increase awareness about invasive alien species and to facilitate effective prevention and management activities.
Invasive Plant Atlas of the United States
The purpose of the Atlas is to assist users with identification, early detection, prevention, and management of invasive plants. The focus is on non-native invasive plant species impacting natural areas, excluding agricultural and other heavily developed and managed lands. Four main components are species information, images, distribution maps, and early detection reporting procedures. The Invasive Plant Atlas is one step in the effort to combat invasive species, preserve our natural landscapes and the native plants, animals, and other creatures that inhabit them.
IPM World Textbook
The University of Minnesota's electronic textbook of Integrated Pest Management featuring contributed chapters by internationally recognized experts.
National Invasive Species Information Center
Gateway to invasive species information; covering Federal, State, local, and international sources. Invasive species are plants, animals, or pathogens that are non-native (or alien) to the ecosystem under consideration and whose introduction causes or is likely to cause harm.
USDA Plant Health & Research
USDA conducts plant health research and monitoring and provides resources to protect against threats to our food supply.
Weed and Invasive Species Image Galleries
Contains links to images and photographs of invasive plant species.
Weed Control Methods Handbook: Tools and Techniques for Use in Natural Areas
Weed Identification
Drawings and descriptions of broadleaf weeds from the University of Illinois.