Library Guides: Plant Sciences Research Guide: Plant Biology

Plant Biology at MSU

The Plant Biology degree program is intended to provide a broad education to students who want to enter a graduate degree program in the plant sciences but who would like to tailor the focus of their undergraduate program, for example, with a cellular, molecular, organismal, ecological, or genetic perspective. The expertise of the plant sciences faculty at MSU, both within and in other academic departments (e.g., Ecology, Land Resources and Environmental Sciences), provides an opportunity to personalize a degree program to the cellular and molecular level or to that of the organismal by emphasizing course work in plant ecology and systematics.

Online Resources for Plant Biology

BIODIC
Initially dedicated specifically to biology students, teachers, and teacher trainees, biodic opened to a wider public since 1999. It offers today the widest series of electron micrographs available on the web in the field of biology: over 1600 images are currently available in high resolution.
The site and images are free of access far all those who want to use them as teaching material or ressources.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
A collection of digitized taxonomic literature from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries. Includes local collections for Europe, China, Australia, and Brazil.
Botanicus
Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
Cells Alive!
CELLS alive! represents 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research.
Consortium of Pacific Northwest Herbaria
The Consortium of Pacific Northwest Herbaria was created in 2007 to bring together regional herbaria and provide an online portal to the wealth of existing and emerging information about the flora of Pacific Northwest North America. Over 3.6 million specimen records and numerous online electronic resources are managed by the region's 60 herbaria, representing an irreplacable storehouse of information for research and public education.
iDigBio
The Integrated Digitized Biocollections (iDigBio) includes data and images for millions of biological specimens available in electronic format for the research community, government agencies, students, educators, and the general public.
JSTOR Global Plants
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
Plant Ontology
The Plant Ontology is a controlled vocabulary (ontology) that describes plant anatomy and morphology and stages of development for all plants. The goal of the PO is to establish a semantic framework for meaningful cross-species queries across gene expression and phenotype data sets from plant genomics and genetics experiments.
PlantFacts
PlantFacts collects over 260,000 pages of information from every land-grant university in the U.S. and several government institutions across Canada. Also includes academic information about college degree programs, requirements, scholarships, career opportunities, research projects, and online courses.
PlantED Digital Library
This site is a tool designed to allow members to share resources online—images, syllabi, labs, lectures, data sets, software, etc. If you have a resource that helps the Society promote its mission, we're here to assist you in sharing it.