Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

Women in the Archives Research Guide

MSU Teachers, Administrators, and Students

Another Archives and Special Collections primary focus is documents related to Montana State University. We carry the publications and collections of many key women in the university, but we also hold the works of many less well-known women. Our materials range from Olga Ross Hannon's sketches of Native American tribes to Professor Florence Ballington's letters to the MSU Dean. In addition, we have materials from important female students at MSU.

Home Economics Department, Montana State University, Records, 1886-1994

The Home Economics Department was originally developed in 1893 as a way for young women to gain "a liberal education with a scientific basis and to train them in the science, management, care of the home, as well as to be teachers of home science." The records contained within the collection illustrate how the department changed over time and provide a wealth of information on women over a period of nearly 100 years. 

Helen MacQuarrie Scrapbook, 1929-1931

Hellen MacQuarrie was a home economics major at Montana State College in 1929. After leaving campus, she remained involved with several campus organizations. Her scrapbook contains photographs, dance cards, play and concert programs, buttons, ribbons, and other memorabilia.

Mildred J. Leigh Papers

Mildred J. Leigh was a professor of home economics and the director of the Student Union at Montana State University. Within her collection, there are a variety of letters, including some from Montana State University employees Lois Payson and Harriet Cushman. The files also deal with her career at Montana State University, including photographs.

Hamilton, Ballinger, Davidson, Bunnell, McAfee, and Weesner Family Papers, 1764-1998

A variety of families are represented in this collection, and there are a number of papers surrounding Florence Ballinger Hamilton. Florence taught at Montana State College (later renamed Montana State University) between 1900 and 1918 in the home economics department. This collection carries her journals, correspondence, and personal estate materials.

Alice Josephine Shaw Scrapbook, 1926-1929

Alice Josephine Shaw, primarily known by her middle name Josephine or the nickname "Jo," attended her freshman year at Montana State College (later MSU) in 1926. Her scrapbook contains memorabilia of her college career, such as party invitations, student records, playbills, and recital programs.

Merrill G. Burlingame Research Files on MSU History, 1895-1968

This collection represents Merrill G. Burlingame's research and writing activities surrounding Montana State University history. The collection incorporates many different MSU resources. Of note is a manuscript by Una B. Herrick, Montana State College (MSC)'s first Dean of Women. The manuscript is entitled Twenty Years at Montana State College and gives Herrick's perspective on the school. Also of note is a report by Lucy Stafford Peck, one of MSC's original eight students.

Harriette Eliza Cushman Papers, 1893-1978

Harriet Cushman was the Extension Poultry Specialist at Montana State College between 1922 and 1955. Her massive collection houses correspondence, photographs, and negatives on a variety of issues. They touch on her personal life, the Native American Studies program at MSU and Native American history, Lewis and Clark Caverns, James Willard Schultz, the Crow Indian fair near Hardin, Montana, Yellowstone National Park, Montana history, and Montana agriculture and poultry.