Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

Women in the Archives Research Guide

Politics

The political actions of women provide some of the most exciting and fascinating works within the archives. From Jeannette Rankin, the first woman to hold federal office in the United States, to Dorothy Floerchinger, who held important community political positions, the archives contain wonderful details on these women. 

Dorothy Floerchinger Collection

Dorothy Floerchinger was an avid historian of Conrad, Montana. She was also active in the community. Her participation in the Montana Democratic Party and Montana Farmers' Union throughout her personal life is recorded within this collection in a long series of scrapbooks. 

Judy Paynter

Paynter was a legislative fiscal analyst and deputy budget director for the Montana legislature. She worked under a variety of governors and had a number of key fiscal responsibilities. Her interview with Bob Brown for his Montana political oral history project gives vital information about the administrations of these governors and their budgetary concerns.

Norma Smith Papers, 1895-2000

The Norma Smith Papers contain her research material for her manuscript on Jeannette Rankin, an important female political figure in Montana and the nation. The collection contains manuscript drafts, other research material, and Smith family research. Pieces in the collection include correspondence, clippings, interview notes, and photographs.

Dorothy Bradley

Dorothy Bradley, a Montana state legislator, was interviewed by Bob Brown for his Montana political oral history project. Bradley was elected to the Montana legislature in the early 1970s at the young age of 23, and she was also a gubernatorial candidate in the 1990s. Her interview also discusses her environmental and women's rights activism.

Bozeman Business and Professional Women Records

The record deals with the activities of the club, including minutes, financial records, membership lists and directories, program schedules, officers rosters, reports, memos, notices, newspaper clippings, club programs and events, and correspondence. Focuses include professional and political women as well as issues of sex and gender.

Dorothy Eck

Dorothy Eck was an important member of the Montana political sphere. She served asa member of the League of Women Votes, a 1972 Montana Constitutional Convention delegate, and Montana legislator for five terms (1980-2000). Her interview by Bob Brown for his Montana political oral history project reveals important details about these organizations.