Text Us @ (406) 962-0756
Call Us @ (406) 994-3139
Icons from Font Awesome under CC 4.0 Attribution License
An annotated bibliography is a bibliography in which each entry or citation is accompanied by an annotation--a statement, ranging in length from a sentence or two to an entire paragraph, which may describe, explain, and evaluate each item.
- Full citation, formatted in the specified style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)
A paragraph that summarizes the main points.
A paragraph that evaluates the accuracy and quality of the source.
A paragraph that explains how the information is useful or relevant to your topic.
An Annotated Bibliography is NOT...
This article talks about point a, point b, and point c. It summarizes the goal, problem, and solution relating to a specific project.
This article is peer-reviewed, showing it is a quality source and accurate because it was reviewed by other experts in the same field of study. If it is not peer-reviewed, discuss how you determined the author or sources was credible. Help can be found on the Evaluating Sources tab.
This article is useful and supports my thesis statement by showing evidence for my first supporting argument. My first supporting argument is... The supporting evidence in this article is... This paragraph should be 3-5 sentences long on average.
The Online Writing Lab (or OWL) at Purdue University has some excellent online information about such bibliographies. See Purdue Owl: Annotated Bibliography. You can use this site to get an overview of what an annotated bibliography is and how to write one yourself.
The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has a great handout with information on Annotated Bibliographies. See Annotated Bibliographies at UNC Chapel Hill.
Unless otherwise noted the content on this LibGuide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.