US 101: First Year Seminar

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for libraries that offers films and documentaries.

• Faculty and instructors planning ahead for your course: Email Molly Arrandale with questions about access and expiration dates.
  • We license films on an as-needed basis, as our budget allows.
  • Licenses are typically for 1- to 3-years and expire automatically.
  • We do not license films for individual viewing (e.g., at the request of a single student).
• Faculty and instructors can also use our purchase request form to request particular titles (subject to budgetary constraints).

• MSU students, faculty, and staff are eligible for a Bozeman Public Library card. To access:
  • Visit BPL's website for directions on accessing and using Kanopy.
  • Each library card holder can play 10 titles per month. Videos cannot be downloaded and only are available for streaming.

Paid for by the MSU Library

• Academic Video Online (AVON)

  • This link opens in a new window
  • This link opens in a new window

  Comprehensive streaming media collection with titles from a wide range of subjects
• Kanopy Streaming Media

  • This link opens in a new window
  • This link opens in a new window

  Streaming films: documentaries, movies, training videos, and more.
• Alexander Street Press Video

  • This link opens in a new window
  • This link opens in a new window

  Search all Alexander Street Press streaming video collections from a single, cross-searchable platform
• Filmakers Library Online

  • This link opens in a new window
  • This link opens in a new window

  Discover streaming video content covering historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide

Open Access Services (Free)

Materials on these sites can be used in and outside of the classroom without violation of copyright. They have open licenses that allow the free public use or are materials that have moved into the public domain. For more about open licenses, check out our guide.

Open Culture - hosts thousands of films ranging from Classics, Noir, Independents, documentaries, and more from the beginnings of film to present. 

Internet Archive: Featured Films Collection - featured films, shorts, silent films, and trailers available for use freely.

Internet Archive: Moving Pictures Collection - over 84,000 films full-length feature films, classic shorts, world culture documentaries, World War II propaganda, movie trailers, and films created in just ten hours: These options are all featured in this diverse open access library.

Library of Congress Open Film Collection - films, news media, interviews and incredible primary source videos collected and archived since 1893.

With MontanaLibrary2Go, you can access thousands of popular eBooks and Audiobooks on the go from your eReader, computer, or mobile device. Download best-selling and classic digital books for free from MontanaLibrary2Go, a statewide library partnership. Borrow up to 5 titles and keep them for up to 2 weeks - the loans expire automatically and there are no late fees. You can also place a hold for any title and be notified when a copy is available. ith MontanaLibrary2Go.

Getting started is easy!

From montanalibrary2go.org, click on sign in (top right). Select Montana State University - Bozeman as your library and sign in with your NetID.

Browse content or use the Advanced Search feature to locate the title and format you want. When you're ready to read or listen to a book, select Borrow, choose your format, and get reading!

You can also access MontanaLibrary2Go titles through the MSU Library catalog.

Not sure what format you need or have questions?

For device-specific instructions and links to more support, check out the device tabs above or Ask a Librarian for further assistance with MontanaLibrary2Go or any and all things Library!