Skip to Main Content
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

Convocation 2025: Michael Punke

Materials at Other Archives and Special Collections

Montana Historical Society, Helena

Burton K. Wheeler

  1. Burton K. Wheeler collection, 1939-1946. Author: Hoke, Henry, 1894-1970  Call Number: SC 1801

  2. Burton Kendall Wheeler Correspondence 1901-1962.  Author: Wheeler, Burton K. (Burton Kendall), 1882-1975. Call Number: SC 1817

  3. Burton Kendall Wheeler papers, 1909-1916. Author:  Wheeler, Burton K. (Burton Kendall), 1882-1975. Call Number: MC 198 (12:2-1)

  4. Burton Kendall Wheeler papers, 1910-1972. Author:  Wheeler, Burton K. (Burton Kendall), 1882-1975. Call Number:  MC 34 (1:3-7)

  5. Burton Kendall Wheeler interview, 1968-1969.  Author: Wheeler, Burton K. (Burton Kendall), 1882-1975. Hopper, Paul. General Montana History Collection (Montana Historical Society) Call Number:  OH 1547

Labor Union Publications and Industrial Workers of the World (I.W.W.)
  1. Bulletin. Author:  Industrial Workers of the World. Industrial Union 800 (Butte, Mont.)  M.M.W.I.U., No. 800 of the I.W.W. Call Number: Z 331.88 IN285U800

  2. I.W.W., one big union of all the workers : the greatest thing on earth.  Author: Industrial Workers of the World. Call Number:  PAM 4333

  3. The strike bulletin (Anaconda). Author:  Metal Mine Workers' Union (Anaconda, Mont.). Call Number:  Z 331.892 ST86A

  4. Miners' and Electrical Workers' joint strike bulletin. Author:  Metal Mine Workers' Union (Butte, Mont.) International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers. Local Union No. 65 (Butte, Mont.) Call Number: MF 7 ; Call Number: Z 331.892 ST86M

  5. Butte and Anaconda joint strike bulletin. Author:  Metal Mine Workers' Union (Anaconda, Mont.). Metal Mine Workers' Union (Butte, Mont.) Call Number:  Z 331.892 ST86J

  6. Montana vs. Dunne records 1919. Call Number: MF 165

The case of "The State of Montana, respondent vs. William F. Dunne, R. B. Smith, and Leo Daly, appellants" arose from Dunne's alleged sedition as publisher-editor of the Butte Bulletin during the Butte miners' strike during World War I. Dunne questioned the legitimacy of the Montana Council of Defense. Records (1919) consist of court papers, including a transcript, from Dunne's appeal of his conviction in Lewis and Clark County District Court.

Anaconda Company

  1. Anaconda Copper Mining Company records. Author: Anaconda Copper Mining Company  Call Number: UPMC 36A (84:2-7)  Publisher Information: 1895-1975

  2. Anaconda Copper Mining Company records, 1876-1974. Author:  Anaconda Company. Call Number: MC 169 (7:7-6). Finding Aid: http://nwda-db.wsulibs.wsu.edu/findaid/ark:/80444/xv06169

Granite Mountain-Speculator Mine Disaster
  1. Speculator Mine Disaster associated records 1917, undated Author: Butte Metal Trades Council, Call Number: SC 2806

  2. North Butte Mining Company records, 1905-1934. Author  North Butte Mining Company. Published   1905-1934

University of Montana, Missoula- Mansfield Library Archives and Special Collections

Anaconda Company and North Butte Mining Company
  1. Anaconda Copper Mining Company purchases ledger, 1917, Mss 266
  2. North Butte Mining Company Stock Certificate ledger, 1908, Mss 460
Butte Society and Culture

  1. Butte (Mont.) Irish Collection, 1882-1935, Mss 112 (collection)

  2. Butte (Mont.) City Clerk's Office Mortuary Records, 1901-1917, Mss 143 (collection)

  3. Mary Murphy's Butte oral history project, 1980-1981, OH 098

  4. George McVey papers, 1934-1969, Mss 257

Labor Unions

  1. Metal Mine Workers' Union strike bulletins, 1917, Mss 859

Montana Technological University (Montana Tech) Library, Butte

Butte Society and Culture

  1. John "The Yank" Harrington (1903 - 2004): From Butte to Beara and back button box in tow. 1st Floor Circ Desk ; HARRINGTON

Anaconda Company

  1. Anaconda Copper Mining Company Records, 1876-1976. Special Collections; Report; 1916

  2. Anaconda Copper Mining Company. The Anode. Bureau of Safety, Anaconda Copper Mining Company, 1915.  1st Flr Special Collections; TN295.A56

  3. Report of the Anaconda Copper Mining Company : 1906-1914. The Company, 1896-1954, 1914. 

  4. Anaconda Copper Company 1942-1945. Copper Commando Index - Volumes 1, 2, and 3. Digital Commons @ Montana Tech.

Butte-Silver Bow Public Archives

https://7125.lucideahost.com/archive/final/Portal/BSB.aspx?lang=en-US 

Too many collections to list!  Suggested Search terms:

  • Granite Mountain - Speculator
  • IWW
  • Anaconda Company
  • Copper Kings (William Andrews Clark, Marcus Daly, Augustus Heinze)
  • William F. Dunne
  • Burton K. Wheeler
  • Labor Unions

The Story of Butte- Virtual and Physical Walking Tours

The New Songs for Butte Mining Camp Project - Historic Clark Chateau under the Butte-Silver Bow Public Archives

The Verdigris Project - Radio Productions & Oral Histories from Butte, Montana