MSU Library
P.O. Box 173320
Centennial Mall
Bozeman, MT 59717-3320
Administration (406) 994-3119
Service Desk (406) 994-3139
The Burton K. Wheeler Reading Room is the space where library patrons can access Montana State University's Archives and Special Collections. Located on the 2nd floor of Renne Library on the MSU campus, the space is open to the public, and tables may be reserved by appointment to examine archival materials (You can book an appointment at this link: https://calendar.lib.montana.edu/reserve/asc).
Senator Wheeler's son Edward, through the Charlotte and Edward Wheeler Foundation, made many philanthropic contributions to Montana State University. Wheeler provided the funds for the Special Collections reading room in the Renne Library. The Burton K. Wheeler Reading Room houses Burton K. Wheeler's Senate desk, his bust and portrait and a variety of memorabilia. Additionally, the MSU Archives and Special Collections hold many collections documenting Wheeler's life and work.
Burton K. Wheeler's desk sits in the Wheeler Reading Room, used by staff and student employees.
Below is a list of some relevant collections available for research at MSU's Archives and Special Collections. To access these collections, make an appointment here to reserve a table in the Reading Room:
Caton, Dixie, Recollections of Senator Burton K. Wheeler, 1992, Collection 2281, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv54403
The Recollections of Senator Burton K. Wheeler consists of a photocopied typewritten reminiscence by Dixie Caton. Dixie Caton was secretary to Burton K. Wheeler from 1967-1975. Topics include includes information on the ex-senator's failing eyesight in his final years and trips to the Wheeler summer home at Glacier National Park and other places in Montana and California. Reminiscence of Mary G. "Dixie" Caton was written by her on request of Edward Wheeler, Washington, D. C. in July 1992. Wheeler donated a photocopy of the document to Special Collections in August 1992.
Family of Burton K. Wheeler, Burton K. Wheeler Family Papers, 1924-1989, Collection 2213, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv10018
The Burton K. Wheeler Family Papers consist of papers and correspondence of Elizabeth Colman pertaining to the writing of her book Mrs. Wheeler Goes to Washington, papers pertaining to the life of Burton K. Wheeler, as well as photographs of Burton K. Wheeler and his family. This collection was donated to MSU Special Collections by Elizabeth Wheeler Colman in 1990 and 1994.
Flynn, John T., Burton K. Wheeler documents from the John T. Flynn papers, 1937-1955, Collection 2353, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv63244
The Burton K. Wheeler Documents from the John T. Flynn Papers consist of letters, newspaper clippings, and other materials either exchanged between the two men or letters sent to Wheeler by citizens interested in his activities in the United States Senate. The bulk of these citizen letters pertain to Senator Wheeler's investigation of the book "Under Cover" written by John Ray Carlson (Avedis Arthur Derounian) which attempted to link the members of the America First Committee with the Nazi Party. Other letters exchanged between Wheeler and Flynn pertain to routine greetings, Wheeler's failed campaign for reelection in 1946, and other political matters. Positive photocopies of original documents found in the John T. Flynn papers, Collection 116, were purchased from the University of Oregon Library on November 18, 1996. These documents are made available for research use only through the courtesy of the University of Oregon Library's Special Collections department. No photocopies are allowed, and permission to quote from these materials must be obtained directly from the appropriate authorities at the University of Oregon Library.
Jarrett, Eddie, Eddie Jarrett Collection on Burton K. Wheeler, 1930-1975, Collection 2282, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv96658
The Eddie Jarrett Collection consist of various materials pertaining to Burton K. Wheeler. Material includes campaign materials, U.S. Senate documents, legislation introduced by Wheeler, correspondence, newspaper clippings, news articles about Wheeler. Subjects include Wheeler's political campaigns, pacifism, World War II, and Wheeler's 90th birthday observance. Eddie Jarrett, secretary to Senator Burton K. Wheeler, donated the material for this collection to Special Collections in August 1992.
Library of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Burton K. Wheeler Documents from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, 1933-1945, Collection 2226, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv29931
The Burton K. Wheeler Documents from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library consist of documents photocopied from originals which are held by the FDR Library. These include correspondence, clippings, and numerous cross-reference sheets and index cards which refer to additional correspondence to, from, or about Wheeler scattered in more than seventy other files within the Personal File, the President's Secretary's file, and the Official File. The Burton K. Wheeler documents from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, President's Personal File Number 723, were purchased from the FDR Library in August, 1990.
UCLA Film and Television Archives, Burton K. Wheeler Videotapes from the UCLA Film and Television Archives, 1925-1941, Collection 2260, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv85824
The Burton K. Wheeler Videotapes from the UCLA Film and Television Archives consists of clips from Wheeler's varied newsreel productions of the day that were found in the UCLA Film and Television Archives. Subject references that were used for collecting the material include Wheeler, the America First Committee, and the Supreme Court debate of 1937. Videotape duplications of original newsreel footage from the Hearst Metronome company held by the University of California at Los Angeles Film and Television Archive were purchased from them in 1992 and 1995. These videocassettes are available for on-site viewing only. Montana State University is not authorized to reproduce the videos, and persons interested in obtaining their own copies should contact the UCLA Film and Television Archives as the exclusive owner of all reproduction rights to the films.
Sayler, Allen and Frances Wheeler, Allen and Frances Wheeler Sayler Papers, 1945-1967, Collection 2513, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv25930
The Allen and Frances Wheeler Sayler Papers consist of the original manuscript biography of Burton K. Wheeler written by Frances, along with a collection of letters written by Wheeler to Allen Sayler in the years following Frances' death. Also included is a box of index cards with bibliographic notations created by Frances Wheeler Sayler while working on her biographical manuscript. Frances Wheeler Sayler (1916-1957) was the second youngest daughter of Montana Senator Burton Kendall Wheeler. She met Allen Sayler (1909-1989) while investigating labor practices for the LaFollette Committee in the late 1930s. Allen had been working with the FCC, and Frances was on loan from the Women's Labor Board. They both went on to work with unions, and Allen set up a radio station for the United Auto Workers in the Midwest. He later chaired the Wallace campaign for president in Michigan in 1948. Frances continued her political activities as a labor worker and a member of the Committee to End the Poll Tax, challenging discriminatory practices in Maryland and elsewhere. The couple was investigated by the FBI as a result of their work, and Frances, along with her father, gave testimony to the House UnAmerican Activities Committee in the early 1950s. A literary manuscript created by Frances Wheeler Sayler and letters from Burton Kendall Wheeler to Allen Sayler were donated to Montana State University Special Collections by Gloria W. Sayler of Bainbridge Island, Washington on October 31 and November 24, 2008. Three additional manuscript chapters and a carbon copy letter were donated by Ms. Sayler on February 21, 2011 and added to the collection as folder numbers 34-37. An additional box of index cards created by Frances Wheeler Sayler was donated on June 13, 2011 by Ms. Diana Matsushima of Glendale, California.
Scott, Marion Wheeler, Marion Wheeler Scott Collection on Burton K. Wheeler, 1924-1973, Collection 2214, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv38049
The Marion Wheeler Scott Collection on Burton K. Wheeler consists of speeches, miscellaneous papers, articles, and correspondence pertaining to the career of Burton K. Wheeler. Also in the collection are scrapbooks, memorabilia, and photographs. Marion Wheeler Scott was the youngest daughter of U.S. Senator Burton K. Wheeler. Papers and memorabilia pertaining to U.S. Senator Burton K. Wheeler collected by Marion Montana Wheeler Scott were donated to Special Collections by Mrs. Scott, on May 25, 1990.
Trohan, Walter J., Walter J. Trohan Papers, 1952-1972, Collection 2323, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT.
https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv23907
The Walter J. Trohan Papers consist of four autographed letters written by Wheeler or his wife, Lulu, to Carol and Walter Trohan, composed between 1952 and 1972. The letters concern national politics, with commentary on the 1952 and 1964 Presidential elections, and family news. The Walter Trohan papers were donated to the Montana State University Library Special Collections by Robert Rydell on January 16, 1995.
Wheeler, Burton K., Burton K. Wheeler Papers, 1922-1975, Collection 2207, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv32772
The Burton K. Wheeler Papers consist of correspondence, memoranda, memorabilia, clippings, speeches, subject files, photographs, and other materials pertaining to Wheeler's personal and political life. There are few senatorial papers from Burton's long tenure in office because he appears to have disposed of them after the 1946 election. What remains are primarily materials which are retrospective in nature, including drafts of Wheeler's autobiography, "Yankee from the West," letters and memoranda pertaining to the same, and correspondence from researchers, political associates, and family members. This collection was donated to MSU libraries in January 1990, by Charlotte and Edward K. Wheeler.
Wheeler, Burton K., Burton K. Wheeler Papers, 1924-1927, Collection 2411, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv98489
The Burton K. Wheeler Papers consist mainly of speeches and writings he made while a United States Senator. Topics covered include Nicaragua, farm relief, tariffs, interstate bus control, the Works Progress Administration (WPA), and progressives. The papers also include campaign material from 1940 and 1946 as well as newspaper clippings from throughout Wheeler's life. This collection was donated to Special Collections from the University of Montana in August of 2000. These papers represent a selection of duplicates from material held by the Montana Historical Society, Helena.
Wheeler, Burton K., Burton K. Wheeler Files, 1924-1945, Collection 2206, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv33773
The photocopied documents in this collection were taken from six files from the FBI in which Wheeler was the subject of investigations, and in one instance, a co-subject. Also included are cross-references to mentions of Wheeler in files on other individuals, organizations, events, or activities. This collection was purchased from the Bureau on February 7, 1990, by Special Collections under the provisions of the Freedom of Information Act.
Doig, Ivan (Creator), and Doig, Ivan. Work Song - Research, Butte General. Montana State University--Bozeman, 2007–2012. The Ivan Doig Archive - Digital Collection. Montana State University, JSTOR, https://jstor.org/stable/community.35074062
This digital collection contains author Ivan Doig's notes and materials that he collected to write his novel Work Song, which takes place in Butte.
Powers, John J., 1937-1952, John J. Powers Papers, Collection 1392. Montana State University Library, Merrill G. Burlingame Special Collections, Bozeman, Montana. https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:80444/xv43426
The John J. Powers Papers contain correspondence of the Anaconda Company's Bureau of Safety, safety posters that Powers drew, pamphlets, and photographs. Topics include mines and miners in Butte in the late 1930s and early 1940s, safety equipment, mining and safety exhibits, work in the stopes, rock drilling, the engine room, work outside the mines, mining gear, soldiers on the front during World War II, American paratroopers in northern France two days after D-Day, American medics, troops in the Southwest Pacific, and German prisoners of war.
Unless otherwise noted the content on this LibGuide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.