It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The VOICE collection is a lending library housed in the VOICE Center, 370 Strand Union Building.
Everyone is welcome to browse and borrow these materials.
Some titles are also available at the MSU Library.
The Courage to Heal: A Guide for Women Survivors of Child Sexual Abuse by Ellen Bass & Laura Davis
An inspiring, comprehensive guide that offers hope and encouragement to every woman who was sexually abused as a child, proving that healing is possible.
The Domestic Violence Sourcebook by Dawn Bradley Berry
Contents: What is domestic violence? -- How did we get to this point? The history of domestic violence -- The psychology of domestic violence -- Social aspects of domestic violence -- Children, adolescents, and domestic violence -- Domestic violence and the law -- What works to reduce and prevent domestic violence? -- Practical information for women who are abused and those who want to help them.
Rape: Sex, Violence, History by Joanna Bourke
Contents: Introduction: Sexed bodies -- Lies: Rape myths ; 'No' means 'yes' -- Identities: Rapacious bodies ; Brutalizing environments ; The knife (and other invasive therapies) ; The couch (and other interior therapies) -- Case studies: Female perpetrators; male victims ; Exhibitionists ; Sexual psychopaths -- Violent institutions: The home ; The prison ; The military -- Law: Getting away with rape -- Resistance: Violence, politics, erotics.
In Our Time: A Memoir of a Revolution by Susan Brownmiller
Contents: The founders -- An independent movement -- Which way is utopia? -- Confrontation -- "Abortion is a woman's right" -- Enter the media -- Full moon rising -- "Rape is a political crime against women" -- Internal combustion -- Feminist author -- "No man is worth dying for" -- Its name is sexual harassment -- The pornography wars.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6626.V55 1997
Focusing on violence and abuse along the full spectrum of intimate relationships. Covers different- and same-sex couples, from dating and courtship through marriage. This book examines the causes and effects of the violence, current policy issues, and the roles of law enforcement, social services, and the courts.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6626.23.D44T6 1999
This vitally important volume places the problem of wife beating in a broad cultural context in a search for strategies to reform societies, including our own, that are prone to this pernicious form of violence. Based on first hand ethnographic data on more than a dozen societies, including a number in Oceania, this collection explores the social and cultural factors that work either to inhibit or to promote domestic violence against women. The volume also includes a study of abuse among nonhuman primates and a cross-cultural analysis of the legal aspects of wife beating. By presenting counterexamples from other cultures, contributors challenge Western assumptions about the factors leading to wife beating. Through a close examination of societies where wife beating is infrequent or absent, To Have and To Hit identifies the factors-economic, social, political, and cultural-that must be explored and transformed in order to combat this violence and eventually eliminate it.
Helping Teens Stop Violence: A Practical Guide to Educators, Counselors, and Parents by Allan Creighton with Paul Kivel
Contains a hands-on curriculum for teaching young people how to deal with violence, and includes information about the causes of violence, suggestions for training adults to conduct workshops on these issues, and strategies for providing long-term support for teens dealing with abuse.
Feminists Negotiate the State: The Politics of Domestic Violence by Cynthia R. Daniels, Editor
Contents: Foreword: Darlene's story / Darlene Furey -- Introduction: Paradoxes of state power / Cynthia Daniels -- A history of the state's response to domestic violence in the United States / Elizabeth Felter -- Naming and framing the issues: demanding full citizenship for women / Laurie Naranch -- Feminist negotiate the executive branch: the policing of male violence / Anne Sparks -- Feminists negotiate the judicial branch: battered woman's syndrome -- Paris de Solo -- Feminists negotiate the legislative branch: the Violence Against Women Act / Rachelle Brooks -- Feminist strategies: the terms of negotiation / the Collective -- Feminists and the state: a theoretical exploration / Sandra Marshall.
Safety Planning with Battered Women: Complex Lives / Difficult Choices by Jill M. Davies, Eleanor Lyon, & Diane Monti-Catania
Contents: Understanding battered women's perspectives -- Creating the image of battered women -- Batterer-generated risks -- Life-generated risks -- Battered women's decision-making and safety plans -- Risk analysis -- Safety planning with battered women -- Toward a woman-defined advocacy environment -- Women-defined policy advocacy.
Domestic Violence for Beginners by Alisa Del Tufo
"Throughout history, men have found ways to justify mistreatment and violence toward women. Despite differences of language, religion, and custom, women are beaten by their male partners throughout most of the world." "This book traces the causes of Domestic Violence, beginning with the astonishing revelation that spousal abuse has been condoned - if not recommended - by each of the major world religions and including the impact of "the nuclear family" and "Big Daddy" Sigmund Freud....
May I Kiss You?: A Candid Look at Dating, Communication, Respect, & Sexual Assault Awareness by Michael Domitrz
A look at the realities of dating and intimacy, this reveals why asking first before "making a move" makes a difference. It includes advice, real-life scenarios, and interactive exercises to add romance, build respect, and heighten awareness of sexual misconduct and assault.
Voices of Courage: Inspiration from Survivors of Sexual Assault by Michael Domitrz
Twelve accounts from sexual assault survivors.
The Domestic Assault of Women: Psychological and Criminal Justice Perspectives by Donald G. Dutton
"The Domestic Assault of Women" relates social and criminal justice policy to empirically tested social psychological theory about the causes and affects of wife assault. Donald G. Dutton argues that only by understanding the psychology of both the aggressors and the victims of wife assault, can we generate informed social and criminal justice policy. By linking the psychological factors that support assaultive habits to police arrest policy and subsequent treatment, Dutton shows how police/therapist intervention can interrupt assaultive behaviour and prevent recidivism.
The Right to Innocence by Beverly Engel
As a trained therapist and sufferer of sexual abuse herself, Beverly Engel knows that there is probably no trauma a child can suffer that makes her or him feel more alone than sexual abuse. This helpful book offers hope for recovery with exercises, visualizations, and techniques that support you through a seven-step program, that will aid you in: facing the truth, releasing your anger, confronting those responsible with facts and feelings, forgiving yourself, and more healing advice and information.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library has at KF9329.E87 1987
Many men believe that they can force women to have sex against there will and that it isn't rape--at least, not if the man knows the women and doesn't beat her up or wield a weapon. The law's casual treatment of such rape cases is the subject of this pioneering book, which is both a powerful exposé of the often shocking facts and a trenchantly written call for reform.
Verbal Abuse Survivors Speak Out: On Relationship and Recovery by Patricia Evans
Relates the experiences of women in verbally abusive relationships, defines the categories of verbal abuse, and provides methods and insights for healing and recovery.
Sexual Violence: Our War Against Rape by Linda Fairstein
This recounting of Fairstein's 20 years as a sex crimes prosecutor in New York City's District Attorney's office stands as a companion work to Alice Vachss's Sex Crimes ( LJ 5/15/93). While Vachss describes the evolution of the laws and attitudes toward sex crimes and reflects on society's historically unyielding attitude toward victims, Fairstein is concerned primarily with the ways the courts and the criminal justice system view sex crimes today. Her book can be seen as a procedural text on how properly to investigate and prosecute a sex crime--how to sort out myths from reality; how to draw out the complete truth from victims; and how to ensure that sex criminals are properly tried. Recommended for libraries with in-depth collections on crime and the administration of justice. (Library Journal)
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at RC560.R36F6 1998
Blends scientific information about the nature of traumatic reactions with practical clinical guidelines for conducting cognitive-behavioral therapy with rape victims. In addition, case studies are provided and specific problems that may come up are addressed.
Reaching Men: Strategies for Preventing Sexist Attitudes, Behaviors, and Violence by Rus Ervin Funk
Contents - Part I: Introduction to Educating Men - Part II: Getting an Overview of the Issues - Part III: Educating for Change.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6558.G38 2005
The past two decades have witnessed a significant shift in how rape is understood in Western societies. This shift in perception has revealed the startling frequency of occurrences of date rape, obscuring the divide between rape and what was once just sex. Just Sex?combines an overview of the existing literature with an analysis of recent research to examine the psychological and cultural implications of this new epidemic. The result is the conclusion that feminist theory on sexual victimization has gone both too far and not far enough. This book succeeds in making a valuable contribution to feminist and social constructionist work on rape that will be of interest to those studying psychology, gender studies, cultural studies and sociology.
Home Truths about Domestic Violence: Feminist Influences on Policy and Practice by Jalna Hanmer & Catherine Itzin
While men's violence to women is an everyday culturally supported activity, this reader demonstrates: that men's violence can be curtailed and that women and children can be assisted effectively; that state policies and provision can be improved; and that women can actively participate in the resolution of their difficulties. Bringing together new work and key papers Home Truths About Domestic Violence provides a comprehensive overview and up-to-date account of the progress so far, and identifies what still needs to be done.
Trauma Recovery and Empowerment: A Clinician's Guide for Working with Women in Groups by Maxine Harris & The Community Connections Trauma Work Group
This one-of-a-kind guide serves as a rich and essential resource for mental health professionals working with women whose lives have been shattered by the trauma of sexual, physical, or emotional abuse. The book presents a practical, step-by-step guide to implementing a group recovery program for female trauma survivors.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV8079.R35P7 1995
This text incorporates information from the fields of victimology, criminology, behavioral science, forensic science, and criminal justice, to aid investigators and prosecutors who work with sexual crimes. The third edition includes current research findings; new forensic techniques; recent data about specific populations of victims and offenders, including sexual abuse of elderly and cognitively handicapped persons, cyberstalking by pedophiles, and female sexual offenders; interrogations and false confessions in rape cases; and difficulties experienced by the sexual assault investigator.
Trauma and Recovery by Judith Herman
Contents: Traumatic disorders. A forgotten history -- Terror -- Disconnection -- Captivity -- Child abuse -- A new diagnosis -- Stages of recovery. A healing relationship -- Safety -- Remembrance and mourning -- Reconnection -- Commonality -- Afterword. The dialectic of trauma continues.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HQ784.V55C445 1998
Comprises 13 contributions which examine research in the field and analyze the complex interactions that determine children's outcomes. Representative topics include research and theoretical perspectives on the impact of woman abuse on children's social development, using multiple informants to understand domestic violence and its effects, parenting behaviors and beliefs of battered women, and child custody disputes and domestic violence. Of interest to developmental, clinical, and educational psychologists, social workers, sociologists, and policy makers.
Will to Change: Men, Masculinity, and Love by bell hooks
Contents: About men -- Wanted : men who love -- Understanding patriarchy -- Being a boy -- Stopping male violence -- Male sexual being -- Work : what's love got to do with it? -- Feminist manhood -- Popular culture : media masculinity -- Healing male spirit -- Reclaiming male integrity -- Loving men.
Forced Sexual Intercourse in Intimate Relationships by Ida M. Johnson & Robert Sigler
Contents: Introduction -- Historical, social, cultural, and legal organization of rape -- Prevalence and incidence -- Characteristics of victims, offenders, and the context of date rape -- Public perceptions of sexual intercourse -- Theories and models addressing forced sexual intercourse -- Understanding and addressing.
Next Time, She'll Be Dead: Battering and How to Stop It by Ann Jones
Contents: Against the law -- Rights and wrongs -- What is "domestic violence"? -- The language of love -- Why doesn't she leave? -- A woman to blame -- What can we do?
Chicago-based journalist Kamen argues that Monica Lewinsky's ambition and audacity are characteristic of a whole generation of women now in their 20s. She chronicles the sexual evolution of young women over the past decade.
The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and How All Men Can Help by Jackson Katz
Contents: Violence against women is a men's issue -- Facing facts -- Taking it personally -- Listening to women -- Male-bashing? -- Stuck in (gender) neutral -- Bystanders -- Race and culture -- It takes a village to rape a woman -- Guilty pleasures : pornography, prostitution, and stripping -- MVP : athletes and marines -- Teach our children well -- More than a few good men.
Sexual Assault in Context by Christopher Kilmartin
Contents: Providing a gendered context -- The content -- Strategies for delivery -- Critical elements of sexual-assault prevention and risk-reduction programs for men and women.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at P94.5.W652U655 2001
From the Gibson Girl to the flapper, from the vamp to the New Woman, Carolyn Kitch traces mass media images of women to their historical roots on magazine covers, unveiling the origins of gender stereotypes in early-twentieth-century American culture. Kitch examines the years from 1895 to 1930 as a time when the first wave of feminism intersected with the rise of new technologies and media for the reproduction and dissemination of visual images. Access to suffrage, higher education, the professions, and contraception broadened women's opportunities, but the images found on magazine covers emphasized the role of women as consumers: suffrage was reduced to spending, sexuality to sexiness, and a collective women's movement to individual choices of personal style. In the 1920s, Kitch argues, the political prominence of the New Woman dissipated, but her visual image pervaded print media.
Men's Work: How to Stop the Violence that Tears Our Lives Apart by Paul Kivel
Contents: Men relating to men -- Men relating to women -- Relating to our cultural and ethnic traditions -- Coming to understand men -- Drugs and violence -- Anger is not the problem -- Why are men violent? -- Men, spirituality and religion -- Becoming fathers -- Becoming partners -- Becoming workers and teachers -- Getting help for ourselves -- Helping others get help -- The Oakland Men's Project -- Going to prison -- The violence of racism -- Visiting a Junior High -- Teens and power -- Taking the time.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6626.2N62 1994
Koss and her five collaborators offer comprehensive coverage of female victimization by men. Violence is broadly defined, thus psychological abuse and sexual harassment are included in addition to physical abuse and rape. The consistent focus on women as victims comes at the expense of full consideration of the interactive nature of some forms of violence in an intimate setting. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and written by leading and respected researchers in this area, the book is the most recent product of the APA Task Force on Male Violence Against Women. The book is well written, has an adequate index, and is well referenced, citing most of the work with a psychological focus on these issues. These references produce an extensive bibliography. Recommended for libraries serving graduate and upper-division undergraduate programs in psychology.
Recovering from Rape by Linda E. Ledray
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6250.4.W65L42 1986
If you have been sexually assaulted, you are probably experiencing a mix of fear, anger, and depression. If you are a relative, friend, or lover of someone who has been assaulted, you too may be deeply affected by the incident and by the survivor's reaction to it. However, working together, survivors and their loved ones can recover and may even be able to turn the recovery into an opportunity for positive change and growth. This comprehensive handbook offers emotional support and practical guidance in overcoming the trauma of rape. It explains what to expect at the police station, at the hospital, and, if necessary, in court, and it helps readers learn the most effective ways of dealing with their feelings immediately following an assault, during the subsequent few months, and beyond.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HQ801.83.D38 1998
This landmark book brings together professionals, activists, researchers, and young people themselves to provide a comprehensive, cross-cultural view of dating violence. First-person accounts are followed by perspectives on the societal contexts and descriptions of successful programs that educate and assist teens.
In Love and In Danger: A Teen's Guide to Breaking Free of Abusive Relationships by Barrie Levy
Describes the experiences of teens who have had abusive dating relationships and gives advice on how to end the cycle of abuse and forge healthy and loving, violence-free relationships. This accessible book shows teens how to identify abusive relationships -- emotional, physical, and sexual -- and how to leave them. The author provides facts about dating violence, the differences between healthy and addictive love, resources for help, and more.
What Parents Need to Know about Dating Violence by Barrie Levy & Patricia Occhiuzzo Giggans
Offering information, advice, and real-life stories from parents and teens, a guide to dealing with dating violence discusses how to teach teens to protect themselves and build healthy relationships, describes resources available, and addresses special situations.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6570.2.L48 1990
For millions of men who are survivors of childhood sexual abuse, this ground-breaking work offers hope, understanding and essential advice experience advice for healing. Written by a nationally recognized expert on recovery for male survivors, Victim No Longer addresses survivor with compassion, intelligence, and respect, and helps them to: Identify and validate their childhood experiences Explore strategies of survival and healing Work through issues such as trust, intimacy, and sexuality Established a support network for continued personal recovery Set future goals For all men are on the path to recovery and those who wish to help them on that journey, Victims No Longer will prove to be an illuminating, transforming guide.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HQ801.83.L56 2000
Blending qualitative interviews with current research findings, Lloyd and Emergy explore negative interactions that take place between dating and courting partners. They emphasize how power dynamics, verbal aggression, interacting patterns, issues of control, and relationship dynamics are integrally tied to physical and sexual aggression.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6626.L677 2001
Providing a base resource for students, clinicians, and researchers concerned about violence between intimate partners, Loue (Case Western Reserve U.) diverges from most such studies by focusing not on the violence itself but on the varied responses to it, and how responses at one level influence those at others. She is convinced that diminishing such violence requires addressing it as both an individual and a community issue.
Cry Rape: The True Story of One Woman's Harrowing Quest for Justice by Bill Lueders
Contents: The rape -- Emergency response -- Under examination -- Detective Woodmansee -- One on one -- Misty and Dominic -- Another suspect -- The confession -- Fighting back -- A story to tell -- Checking it out -- Up against the system -- The people's lawyer -- Discovery -- 'The enemy' -- In search of the truth -- Honest mistakes -- A question of standing -- Losing battles -- Healthy outrage -- Filing suit -- Patty's depositions -- The police defendants -- A strong case -- 'Shocked and hurt' -- Vindicated? -- Wishing it were over -- For the defense -- 'Expect the worst' -- Patty takes the stand -- Burden of proof -- Star witness -- Closing arguments -- The verdict.
Same-Sex Domestic Violence: Strategies for Change by Sandra Lundy & Beth Leventhal, Editors
This comprehensive resource book examines a broad range of issues that confront the victims of same-sex domestic violence and those who offer them services. Chapters include topics of practical concern, HIV, same-sex domestic violence, establishing safe-home networks for battered gay men, courtroom advocacy, coalition building and dating violence prevention.
"Bad Girls" / "Good Girls": Women, Sex, and Power in the Nineties by Nan Bauer Maglin & Donna Perry, Editors
Contents Include: "One bird, if there is only one, dies in the night" / Marge Piercy - And now, babe feminism / Anna Quindlen - What did you do in the gender wars? / Katha Pollitt - Confessions of two good girls / Jan Wilkotz & Miranda Wilkotz - Adjusting to oppression : the rise of therapeutic feminism in the United States / Jillian Sandell - The personal is still political : the legacy of 1970s feminism / Jane Gerhard - Villains and victims : "sexual correctness" and the repression of feminism / Ellen Willis - Dissident heat : fire with fire / bell hooks - Lorena's army / Katha Pollitt - "Victim feminism" and the complexities of AIDS / Katie J. Hogan - Coming out as an alien : feminists, UFOs, and the "Oprah effect" / Jodi Dean - We are all "good woman!" : a womanist critique of the current feminist conflict / Barbara McCaskill & Layli Phillips - Silver / Deborah A. Miranda - Victim and Valkyrie / A. Quindlen - Acquaintance rape : revolution and reaction / Paula Kamen - Truth, community, and the politics of memory : narratives of child sexual abuse / Helen Daniels - Battering : who's going to stop it? / Ann Jones - Subject/position / Lillian S. Robinson - Porn power : sex, violence, and the meaning of images in 1980s feminism / Kegan Doyle & Dany Lacombe.
The Rape Crisis Intervention Handbook: A Guide for Vicitm Care by Sharon L. McCombie, Editor
Information about services for victims.
If She Is Raped: A Guidebook for Husbands, Fathers, and Male Friends by Alan W. McEvoy & Jeff B. Brookings
Information to help male loved ones support victims and cope with their own feelings.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HQ1154.M5 2000
Praised and denounced when it was first published in 1970, Sexual Politics not only explored history but also became part of it. Kate Millett's groundbreaking book fueled feminism's second wave, giving voice to the anger of a generation while documenting the inequities -- neatly packaged in revered works of literature and art -- of a complacent and unrepentant society.
Straight Talk about Date Rape by Susan Mufson & Rachel Kranz
Discusses the phenomenon known as acquaintance, or date, rape, describing situations in which it occurs, how to avoid this crime, and where to get help if you have been a victim.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HQ1154.N39 1997
Find out information on a multitude of important issues, and discover facts pertinent to anyone concerned about women's issues and women's status in the growing global community. Based largely on United Nations documents and unpublished reports commissioned by the U.N.,Where Women Stand provides the latest facts on women in the world around us. Two complimentary sections illuminate pressing issues and essential statistics about women's status around the world. The first section provides a global progress report on women's political representation, education, and employment. It also deals with marriage and divorce, family planning, and domestic violence. The second section uses these topics as criteria to profile 140 countries, 21 of them in depth. With ample graphs, charts, and tables, no other book offers so much information in such an easy-to-access format.
Confronting Rape and Sexual Assault by Mary E. Odem & Jody Clay-Warner, Editors
Contents: Speaking out - Defining the problem - Why rape happens - Institutional and cultural context - Strategies for change.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at RC569.5.F3P787 2001
This volume addresses the importance of measuring psychological abuse and shows that psychological aggression can be reliably measured. Part I identifies measurement issues and contains several scales and inventories for measuring psychological maltreatment. Part II discusses the interpersonal dynamics with specific populations, including battered women, low-income women, and African American women. This remains an important resource in the field of domestic violence.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at RC489.A7O74 1998
Telling Secrets presents the art and dreams of Jane Orleman, a victim of childhood sexual abuse, as a means to identify and examine symbols of her abuse and to establish a method for aiding the healing process of other victims. The powerful color illustrations -- 103 in all -- combined with dream descriptions and insights in the accompanying text, are an effective starting point for caregivers who want to understand the overwhelming effects of childhood abuse. Survivors, therapists, therapy groups, judges, lawyers, law enforcement officers, sex offenders, teachers, and students, among others, will benefit from Jane Orleman's shared experiences.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at LC212.862.S52 2001
Date rape and sexual violence are finally being taken seriously on US college campuses, as attested to by these dozen papers. Ottens begins with an overview of the scope of the problem while pointing out that only some students exploit opportunities for such relationship transgressions. Most of the contributors focus on education, counseling, and risk reduction programs for "changing a culture." Others address the use of drugs to facilitate rape, and the sexual assault of gay/lesbian/bisexual students. Ottens and Hotelling are clinical psychologists at Northern Illinois U.
Coping with Date Rape and Acquaintance Rape by Andrea Parrot
This book helps teens learn how to cope with the aftermath of rape, where they can go for help, what they can expect from others, and what can be done to avoid being in a similar situation again.
Rape 101 Sexual Assault Prevention for College Athletes by Andrea Parrot, Nina Cummings, & Timothy Marchell
Contents include athletic culture and sexual violence, a game plan approach, and logistics.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6250.4.W65S68
A recent survey found that one in four women will experience domestic violence in their lifetime. Renzetti (U. of Kentucky) et al. present this...Sourcebook offering a wealth of information and resources on research, prevention, and intervention. The book is organized into three sections focusing on: theoretical and methodological issues in researching violence against women, types of violence against women, and prevention and intervention. This book was intended for those engaged in advanced studies in domestic violence and violent crime.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6561.R89 1982
One out of seven American women who have ever been married has been raped by a husband or ex-husband. Written by the principal investigator for the National Institute of Mental Health study that discovered this shocking statistic, this book is a monumental, eye-opening work that dispels misinformation and illusions about a previously ignored aspect of family violence.
The Physician’s Guide to Domestic Violence by Patricia R. Salber & Ellen Taliaferro
Despite the prevalence of battered women in the medical setting, many physicians fail to correctly identify and refer abused patients. The introductory chapter of this book discusses definitions of domestic violence, issues of power and control, the prevalence of the problem, the effect of domestic violence on the medical system, and reasons why physicians fail to identify abuse....
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6561.S25 1990
Reeves presents case studies of rape--usually the victim is drunk or high on drugs. The work ends with details of frat initiations demonstrating the inculcation of sexist and brutish attitudes.
A Woman Scorned: Acquaintance Rape on Trial by Peggy Reeves Sanday
According to University of Pennsylvania anthropologist Peggy Reeves Sanday, half of all women who have been raped are victims of a crime committed by someone they knew. Her book charts America's attitudes towards sex and rape from the time of the Puritans (who Sanday says led spirited sex lives) when the incidence of rape was low; through the 18th century, when the number of rapes rose as masculinity came to be equated with sexual aggression and femininity with passivity; to the present, when male sexual violence is often condoned and juries would rather believe that "Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned," than accept that a woman can be raped by an acquaintance.
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at LC212.862.S48 1997
An aid to help institutions re-examine their policies and procedures regarding sexual harassment, evaluate what has and has not worked, and make necessary revisions. Considers such dimensions as law, the process of developing and changing policies, what policies should look like, how to deal both formally and informally with complaints, thinking about sexual harassment, and the experience of those whose lives have been altered as a result of it.
Male on Male Rape: The Hidden Toll of Stigma and Shame by Michael Scarce
Male on Male Rape: The Hidden Toll of Stigma and Shame examines a form of violence that, despite worldwide prevalence, remains vastly underreported and unrecognized. Michael Scarce, coordinator of a rape education and prevention program and a survivor of adult male rape, investigates the substantial effects of male-on-male sexual violence on individuals and society, dispelling popular myths and questioning why most communities cannot or will not confront the problem of same-sex sexual violence....
Women and Male Violence: The Visions and Struggles of the Battered Women's Movement by Susan Schechter
"Women and Male Violence" takes an in-depth look at battering and the social movement against it. It describes not only the horrifying experiences of victims, but the powerful movement that demands an end to violence against women and permanent changes in the conditions of women's lives.
Researching Sexual Violence Against Women: Methodological and Personal Perspectives by Martin D. Schwartz, Editor
A remarkable introduction to research in the field, Researching Sexual Violence Against Women provides cutting-edge information on the various studies conducted on North American campuses. This compelling book not only provides a strong overview of the entire field but also simultaneously offers an answer to backlash critics who claim that feminists exaggerate their statistics....
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6561.S37 1983
The authors review popular, legal and scientific explanations of rape and offer a new and persuasive approach to understanding violence against women. They show that rape is not common to all societies and conclude that it is linked to general levels of sexual inequality, sexism and violence. It is seen as a consequence of the development of capitalism. In supporting their thesis, the authors present material that will be of great interest to anthropologists, criminologists, political economists, and people in women's studies.
Sexual Assault: Will I Ever Feel Okay Again? by Kay Scott
One woman's personal journey to wholeness and a guide for other victims, their families, and friends. A book of hope and healing.
Time to Break Free: Meditations for the First 100 Days after Leaving an Abusive Relationship by Judith R. Smith
These meditations provide support for the first 100 days after a woman leaves or begins the process of leaving an abusive relationship. Clients learn to find in themselves the courage and strength needed to overcome the lies, threats, and manipulations abusers use to coax women into returning to them. Messages provide the support, knowledge, and compassion that abused women need to shore up their resolve to stay free of abuse and continue healing.
Domestic Violence at the Margins: Readings on Race, Class, Gender, and Culture by Natalie J. Sokoloff with Christina Pratt
"This anthology reorients the field of domestic violence research by bringing long-overdue attention to the structural forms of oppression in communities marginalized by race, ethnicity, religion, sexuality, or social class." "Reprints of the most influential research work in the field as well as more than a dozen newly commissioned essays explore theoretical issues, current research, service provision, and activism among Latinos, African Americans, Asian Americans, Jewish Americans, and lesbians....
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6250.4.W65S79 2002
Stewart (sociology, University of Nevada) provides a feminist analysis of the forms, variations, extent, and consequences of violence against women. Chapters discuss violence as it occurs in the workplace and in the home, as it is committed by strangers and intimates, and as it is supported, ignored, rationalized, and medicalized by the larger society. The roles of culture, the family, and corporations receive particular scrutiny.
Victims: The Kari Swenson Story by Janet Milek Swenson
In 1984, Kari Swenson, one of America's top performers in the biathlon, a competitive sport that combines skiing and target shooting, was kidnapped while jogging near Big Sky, Mont. The kidnappers were Don and Dan Nichols, a father and son who lived in the wilds of Montana, hunting, raising some food and stealing the rest; intending to found a "tribe," they were characterized as "mountain men" by the media. During her rescue, Swenson was badly wounded, and one of her liberators was shot to death. This book, by her mother, focuses on the effects of the tragedy on the athlete and her family. Few books have done such a compelling job of assessing the consequences of violent crime on its victims. Swenson required long-term physical therapy and psychological counseling, and her family was also deeply hurt. And, although she attempted a comeback, her days as a leading biathlete were over. (Publishers Weekly)
Men and Feminism: Seal Studies by Shira Tarrant
There's no denying that men's involvement and interest in feminism is key to its continuing relevance and importance. Addressing the question of why men should care about feminism in the first place, Men and Feminism lays the foundation for a larger discussion about feminism as a human issue, not simply a women's issue. Men are crucial to the movement -- as fathers, brothers, husbands, boyfriends, and friends....
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6626.2.W33 2000
A classic, early work that defined "the cycle of violence" and "learned helplessness" theories that are now debated by some in the field. Walker is best known for her "battered woman syndrome" defense of women who kill their abusers. (Library Journal)
Call Number: Find in MSU Library at HV6561.W38 1988
A ground-breaking report on the hidden epidemic of date and acquaintance rape, offering essential new information and insight, along with avenues for prevention and healing.
When Violence Begins at Home: A Comprehensive Guide to Understanding and Ending Domestic Abuse by K. J. Wilson
Offers advice to victims of domestic violence about how to escape their abusive situations and start a new life; includes information about the responsibilities of friends, family, police officers, and public officials.
Graphics and text from Syndetic Solutions, Amazon, and WorldCat.