Library Guides: Education Research Guide: Research Databases & More!

Thanks to the University of Oregon Libraries for allowing remix of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.

Digital Handout (accessible PDF)

Academic Writer
Learning and teaching tools, writing and content management technology, and integration of the APA Publication Manual.
Print copies of the APA Publication Manual are also available. The most recent edition is located in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor of the library (Call Number: PE1478 .P82).

Academic Writer Tutorial (APA Publishing Training)
Sage Research Methods
SRM provides material to guide users through every step of the research process. SRM includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by academics from across the social sciences, including a collection of qualitative methods books.

ERIC
The primary education research database: includes articles and other resources, including lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and more. ERIC is also available directly on the Web at http://eric.ed.gov/.
PsycInfo
The primary database for research in psychology, PsycInfo provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
Web of Science
Broad coverage of international literature in the sciences and social sciences. Allows citation searching to determine what papers cite a particular author/paper.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Theses and Dissertations from MSU and other institutions
Find the full text of theses and dissertations done at MSU and beyond. If a thesis or dissertation from another institution isn't available full text in our database (pre 1997) inquire about making an Interlibrary Loan Request: 406-994-3161.
MSU Theses & Dissertations - Education Dept.

UlrichsWeb
Use to determine if a journal is peer-reviewed. UlrichsWeb is a database of serials published throughout the world.
WorldCat
Use WorldCat to find more books on your topic, beyond what the MSU library owns. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items that you'd like to borrow.
CatSearch
Use CatSearch as a supplementary research tool to search multiple databases at once.

Qualtrics
Create online surveys and collect data for research purposes.
REDcap
Build and manage online surveys/questionnaires and databases, HIPAA compliant.
Explore other Education-related databases not listed above
Does your topic overlap with business, history, or other discipline not mentioned above? Explore other databases for your interdisciplinary research topics.
Health & Human Development databases
Find more databases for counseling research and more.

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar as a supplementary research tool.
Settings, Library Links, set preference to Check MSU Availability to see what journals the MSU Library has access to.

Citation Analysis (borrowed from UIC Library)
Measuring Your Impact: Impact Factor, Citation Analysis, and other Metrics: Citation Analysis Overview of h-index, Eigenfactor, Impact Factor (IF), Journal Citation Reports, Citation Analysis, and other tools.

Cabells
Use to locate possible publishing venues for your manuscripts and to find out journal acceptance rates.
The MSU Library's subscription to Cabells contains access to:
- Journalytics
- Predatory Reports
Journal Citation Reports
Use JCR to determine journal impact factors and rankings in a research area.

Peterson’s Test and Career Prep (Gale)
Use this database to take GRE (and other) practice exams, study the online GRE guide, explore graduate schools, build your resume and more!
In addition to logging in with a NetID and password, users will need to create a personal account using an @montana.edu email address in order to save things such as test progress.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
See this U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics resource for information on hundreds of different types of jobs and careers. Find job search tips, plus information about the job market in each state, etc.

APA website
ERIC
This is the freely available version of the ERIC database.
Online Writing Lab at Purdue
Use this rich resource for citation, style and formatting help in APA and other formats.