MSU Library
P.O. Box 173320
Centennial Mall
Bozeman, MT 59717-3320
Administration (406) 994-3119
Service Desk (406) 994-3139
Thanks to the University of Oregon Libraries for allowing remix of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.
Welcome to the Biology Research Guide.
Biology at MSU includes Biological Sciences; Cell Biology, Conservation Biology, Environmental Biology, Microbiology, Biotechnology, Neuroscience and Organismal Biology.
Large, combined database of scholarly articles, books, and data sets (1637 - current)
Journal articles and eBooks in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities
Large, combined database of scholarly articles, books, and data sets (1637 - current)
Full-text of articles covering biological and agricultural studies
You will find books related to Biology on the 3rd floor of the library mostly in the Q section. Some general topics and their call numbers below:
QH301-705.5 Biology (General)
QH359-425 Evolution
QH426-470 Genetics
QH471-489 Reproduction
QH573-671 Cytology
QH705-705.5 Economic biology
QR1-502 Microbiology
QR100-130 Microbial ecology
QR171 Microorganisms in the animal body
QR180-189.5 Immunology
QR355-502 Virology
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought by
This volume is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. With more than sixty essays written by an international group representing the leading scholars in the field, this is the definitive work on Darwin. It covers the background to Darwin's discovery of the theory of evolution through natural selection, the work he produced and his contemporaries' reactions to it, and evaluates his influence on science in the 150 years since the publication of On the Origin of Species. It also explores the implications of Darwin's discoveries in religion, politics, gender, literature, culture, philosophy and medicine, critically evaluating Darwin's legacy. Fully illustrated and clearly written, it is suitable for scholars and students as well as the general reader. The wealth of information it provides about the history of evolutionary thought makes it a crucial resource for understanding the controversies that surround evolution today.
Encyclopedia of Systems Biology by
Systems biology refers to the quantitative analysis of the dynamic interactions among several components of a biological system and aims to understand the behavior of the system as a whole. Systems biology involves the development and application of systems theory concepts for the study of complex biological systems through iteration over mathematical modeling, computational simulation and biological experimentation. Systems biology could be viewed as a tool to increase our understanding of biological systems, to develop more directed experiments, and to allow accurate predictions. The Encyclopedia of Systems Biology is conceived as a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of systems biology, in particular the investigation of living matter involving a tight coupling of biological experimentation, mathematical modeling and computational analysis and simulation. The main goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide a complete reference of established knowledge in systems biology - a 'one-stop shop' for someone seeking information on key concepts of systems biology. As a result, the Encyclopedia comprises a broad range of topics relevant in the context of systems biology. The audience targeted by the Encyclopedia includes researchers, developers, teachers, students and practitioners who are interested or working in the field of systems biology. Keeping in mind the varying needs of the potential readership, we have structured and presented the content in a way that is accessible to readers from wide range of backgrounds. In contrast to encyclopedic online resources, which often rely on the general public to author their content, a key consideration in the development of the Encyclopedia of Systems Biology was to have subject matter experts define the concepts and subjects of systems biology.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by
Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Fourth Edition gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth. This range attracts a growing number of cross-disciplinary studies, which the encyclopedia makes available to readers from diverse educational backgrounds. The new edition builds on the solid foundation established in earlier versions, adding new material that reflects recent advances in the field. New focus areas include `Animal and Plant Microbiomes' and 'Global Impact of Microbes`. The thematic organization of the work allows users to focus on specific areas, e.g., for didactical purposes, while also browsing for topics in different areas.
Methods in Cell Biology by
Methods in Cell Biology, Volume 158, the latest release in this series, highlights new advances in the field, with this release covering How to orient cells in micro-cavities for high resolution imaging of cytokinesis and lumen formation, A body-on-a-chip (BOC) system for studying gut-liver interaction, Manipulating cultured mammalian cells for mitosis research, Live-cell FLIM-FRET using a commercially available system, A comparative analysis of methods to measure kinetochore-microtubule attachment stability, A workflow for visualizing human cancer biopsies using large-format electron microscopy, Isolation of stage-specific germ cells using facs in drosophila germarium, Computational analysis of filament polymerization dynamics in cytoskeletal networks, and more.
Biology 2e by
Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand-and apply-key concepts.
Guide to U. S. Environmental Policy by
Guide to U.S. Environmental Policy provides the analytical connections showing readers how issues and actions are translated into public policies and persistent institutions for resolving or managing environmental conflict in the U.S. The guide highlights a complex decision-making cycle that requires the cooperation of government, business, and an informed citizenry to achieve a comprehensive approach to environmental protection. The book's topical, operational, and relational essays address development of U.S. environmental policies, the federal agencies and public and private organizations that frame and administer environmental policies, and the challenges of balancing conservation and preservation against economic development, the ongoing debates related to turning environmental concerns into environmental management, and the role of the U.S. in international organizations that facilitate global environmental governance. Key Features: 34 essays by leading conservationists and scholars in the field investigate the fundamental political, social, and economic processes and forces driving policy decisions about the protection and future of the environment. Essential themes traced through the chapters include natural resource allocation and preservation, human health, rights of indigenous peoples, benefits of recycling, economic and other policy areas impacted by responses to green concerns, international cooperation, and immediate and long-term costs associated with environmental policy. The essays explore the impact made by key environmental policymakers, presidents, and politicians, as well as the topical issues that have influenced U.S. environmental public policy from the colonial period to the present day. A summary of regulatory agencies for environmental policy, a selected bibliography, and a thorough index are included.
Unless otherwise noted the content on this LibGuide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.