Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

Alerts

How to get email alerts (current awareness) for new articles from journals, subject searches, & citation matches

Citation Alerts

Scholarship is traced with citations. When new research is published based on prior work, it should cite the older material. Setting up Citation Alerts lets you track when a specific article or author is cited in newly published articles. Some publishers' sites offer citation alerts but they may be limited to citations from within their own publications. For broader citation coverage, use the Web of Science Core Collection and/or Google Scholar.

 

Web of Science Core Collection Citation Alerts

The Web of Science Core Collection covers citations in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and the Arts and Humanities. It includes primarily journal citations but also has some book and data citation information.

The Web of Science Core Collection includes the first databases to look at citation patterns and track citations: the Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Set up a Citation Alert:

  1. Find a citation

  2. Click on the "Create Citation Alert" on the right side of the screen

  3. Sign in or create an account (free); can use EndNote or ResearcherID account

Google Scholar Alerts

Click the "Create Alert" link on the left to set up a Google Scholar alert. If you want to track multiple Scholar alerts, log in to your Google account.

Then enter your email address and click on "Create Alert" button.

You will need to confirm the alert request by clicking on a link in an email.

For a citation alert:

   1. Find the reference in Google Scholar
   2. Click on the "Cited by" link below the record
   3. Then click on the "Create Alert" link on the left.

Want citation alerts to all citations from a single author? That is only available for authors who have set up an author profile in Google Scholar. For those authors (author profile displayed at the top of results or an underlined author name in the results), look under the Follow this Author box on the left and click on the "Follow New Citations" link.