Databases and More for Research in Health & Human Development
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2014
How can you determine how many times a particular article/study has been cited by others? Try searching for your article in one or more of these databases for starters.
Use EndNoteWeb to organize the citations that you gather in your research. Create a free account and log in from MSU campus at least once a year to maintain access. Already registered? Login in here: https://www.myendnoteweb.com/EndNoteWeb.html
Ask at the Research Center (1st floor of library) for more Citation Style resources and assistance!
Where to start your research? You might start with Web of Science as it's a very large, interdisciplinary database. However, you may need to search your topic across several databases depending on the interdisciplinary nature of your topic and depending on how extensive of a literature review you're conducting. Most research questions are also appropriate for exploring in the PSYCINFO behavioral sciences database. Or you might chose to begin with CINAHL and add other databases to your search under the CHOOSE DATABASES link once you're logged in.
- Web of Knowledge (Web of Science & Medline combined)
This combined database searches the Web of Science databases (Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Medline, BIOSIS, and Zoological Record.
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Use this directory to identify possible publishing venues for your manuscripts.
Covers nutrition & health related topics (nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health). NOTE link to CHOOSE DATABASES above search boxes; you can select several databases to search at one time.
- Cochrane Database
The Cochrane Library consists of evidence-based medicine databases and is a unique source of current, reliable information on the effects of interventions in health care.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC is a bibliographic and abstracts database covering the field of education. Includes citations and abstracts to educational journal articles (from the Current Index to Journals in Education [CIJE]) and educational documents (from the Research in Education [RIE]). Many of the educational documents 1993 - present are available online; some older ones available in the library's microform room by their ED number. ERIC is also available directly on the Web at http://eric.ed.gov/.
- Foundation Directory (Library Use only)
Use this database to explore grant possibilities from non-governmental entities; you can search by granting institutions or you can view grants given to various entities. Licensing contract restricts use of this database to library use only; available from most computers within the MSU Library. Search grants.gov to find federal grants.
- Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals based on Citation data. Use JCR to determine a publication’s impact and influence in a research subject.
- Medline (on Web of Science)
Medline is the premiere medical abstracts database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. This version of Medline provides links to our journal holdings through the CHECK MSU AVAILABILITY feature.
The primary database for research in psychology, PsycInfo provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
- PubMED (open access Medline search interface)
The original Medline database interface, PubMED does not provide links to MSU journal holdings. Search the JournaList database to determine if the library owns a journal from which you need an article. See Medline description above for coverage.
- Sociological Abstracts
Covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sport Discus covers both serial and monographic literature in the areas of recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history, and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Seventy percent of the database consists of periodical articles.
- Theses and Dissertations from MSU and other institutions
Find theses and dissertations done at MSU and beyond. Note full text availability of theses and dissertations done at institutions other than MSU in the Dissertations and Theses: Full Text database.
- Web of Science Core Collection
A subset of the Web of Science database, Web of Science Core Collection provides broad coverage of international literature in the sciences and social sciences. Allows citation searching to determine what papers cite a particular author/paper.
- Other HHD related databases
Explore this link to find even more databases, including SportDiscus, Health and Psychosocial instruments, and more.
Search grants.gov to find and apply for federal grants; note the Foundation Directory, above, a great resource for locating grants available from various foundations.
- National Center for Cultural Competence
NCCC provides national leadership and contributes to the body of knowledge on cultural and linguistic competency within systems and organizations. Major emphasis is placed on translating evidence into policy and practice for programs and personnel concerned with health and mental health care delivery, administration, education and advocacy.