Streaming Media Resources Available at MSU-Bozeman

Overview

The library provides collections of films and videos for use in the classroom and for research, reference, and entertainment. 

Library videos can be used by faculty in courses to enhance their curriculum.  Students can also use these streaming video resources for assignments, research, and recreation.

Find and Access Streaming Video

Search our streaming video databases directly for the content you want.

CatSearch can also show what's already available, including physical media like our DVD collection.

Most streaming video resources require you to sign in to the library for access. Our Getting Started with Online Resources page will help.

MSU Library Film Services

• Academic Video Online (AVON)

  • This link opens in a new window
  • This link opens in a new window

  Comprehensive streaming media collection with titles from a wide range of subjects
• Kanopy Streaming Media

  • This link opens in a new window
  • This link opens in a new window

  Streaming films: documentaries, movies, training videos, and more.
• Alexander Street Press Video

  • This link opens in a new window
  • This link opens in a new window

  Search all Alexander Street Press streaming video collections from a single, cross-searchable platform
• Filmakers Library Online

  • This link opens in a new window
  • This link opens in a new window

  Discover streaming video content covering historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide

Open Access Services

Materials on these sites can be used in and outside of the classroom without violation of copyright. They have open licenses that allow the free public use or are materials that have moved into the public domain. For more about open licenses, check out our guide.

Open Culture - hosts thousands of films ranging from Classics, Noir, Independents, documentaries, and more from the beginnings of film to present. 

Internet Archive: Featured Films Collection - featured films, shorts, silent films, and trailers available for use freely.

Internet Archive: Moving Pictures Collection - over 84,000 films full-length feature films, classic shorts, world culture documentaries, World War II propaganda, movie trailers, and films created in just ten hours: These options are all featured in this diverse open access library.

Library of Congress Open Film Collection - films, news media, interviews and incredible primary source videos collected and archived since 1893.

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers films and documentaries.

• Faculty and instructors planning ahead for your course: Email Molly Arrandale with questions about access and expiration dates.
  • We license films on an as-needed basis, as our budget allows.
  • Licenses are typically for 1- to 3-years and expire automatically.
  • We do not license films for individual viewing (e.g., at the request of a single student).
• Faculty and instructors can also use our purchase request form to request particular titles (subject to budgetary constraints).

• MSU students are eligible for a BPL library card. To access:
  • Visit BPL's website for directions on accessing and using Kanopy.
  • Each library card holder can play 10 titles per month. Videos cannot be downloaded and only are available for streaming.

Requesting a streaming video purchase

The library accepts purchase requests for streaming and analog video. However:

• Not all films are available to purchase in streaming format for the library.
• Some film licenses may be prohibitively expensive for the library to purchase.
• The library can't purchase streaming videos for individual viewing (e.g., at the request of a single student).

Limitations on streaming video services

There are some limitations to how we can help:

• The library can't convert DVDs to a digital format.
• The library can't host streaming media files.
• The library generally doesn't purchase content that is password-protected by the vendor.
• The library generally doesn't purchase content with short-term access (less than a year).

If you've searched our streaming video databases and can't find what you need:

• Our Learning & Research Services Librarians can help. Schedule a visit with us today. We will help you find what you need.
• Try our Open Access resources list (above) or other OER.
• Consider asking your students to rent, purchase, or subscribe to films from a streaming platform (examples include Netflix, Hulu, Vudu, iTunes, Google Play, Amazon Prime, etc.).
  • Include this information in your syllabus so students have time to discover their options.
  • Link students to our ILL page or recommend they connect with local libraries to find out their affordable options.

If you found what you're looking for in our collections:

• Add library items directly into your Brightspace page.  This practice supports copyright, the library, and accessibility standards.
• Many vendors allow for smaller films and video clips, up to a certain size, to be hosted. If you have questions about copyright, please contact Leila Sterman, our Scholarly Communication Librarian.