Library Guides: Nursing &amp; Medical Research Guide: Find Evidence-Based research studies & more (Databases, etc.)

Using and Citing Generative AI

Generative AI Guide from your MSU Library

Digital Handout (Accessible PDF)

HANDOUT: Nursing and Medical Digital Handout (Accessible PDF)
Download the accessible PDF.

Find articles, evidence summaries, clinical-decision support resources (Databases, etc.)

Use one of these indexes or databases to find specific articles in a variety of nursing journals. You will be asked for a username and password if you are accessing these resources from off campus - just use your NetID and password. To see all the databases available to you, go to our Articles & Research Databases page from the FIND link on the library home page.

Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Medline database, plus some overlap with Psycinfo, CINAHL, etc.
CINAHL Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering the nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health literature. It also includes some full-text documents. For the most recent citation, it includes PreCINAHL records, which have only limited bibliographic information (no subject indexing)
Cochrane Library
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases and is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
Find full-text doctoral dissertations and select theses from the U.S. and around the world
An incomplete listing of MSU theses & dissertations can be found in this database. We recommend using ScholarWorks if you're specifically searching for MSU published theses & dissertations and research.
Global Health
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health is a public health database with more than 1.4 million records of which 40% are unique and over 95% contain informative abstracts. Produced by CABI Publishing, the database contains information from over 3,500 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses and electronic only publications from more than 150 countries.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
The Health and Wellness Resource Center includes articles from health-related magazines, journals, & newspapers; encyclopedia and dictionary articles; a drug and herb finder; and the Alternative Health Module.
JBI Evidence-Based Practice Database
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes the complete evidence-based practice content set from the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). Coverage includes a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties.

Lexicomp Drug Interactions (within UpToDate)
To use Lexicomp Drug Interactions, log in to UpToDate and select 'Drug Interactions' from the menu.
Lippincott Advisor
Use to find evidence-based, nursing clinical-decision support, plus access to evidence-based, point of care information with over 17,000 monographs and patient teaching handouts. Includes topic overviews and improvement planning strategies.

Medline (via Web of Science)
- This link opens in a new window
Medline (same database as PubMed with Check MSU Availability links): the premiere medical database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Journal articles are indexed for Medline, and their citations are searchable, using the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). To expand your keyword search results, change the drop down menu to include the Web of Science Core Collection to locate more articles not indexed in MEDLINE.

Native Health Database
From the U, of New Mexico; Can search by federally recognized tribes. Only database to index the IHS Primary Health Care Provider. NOTE: you will have to create a free account within this database in order to use it more fully.

PsycInfo
- This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the online version of Psychological Abstracts and provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Updated weekly.
PTSDpubs
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
UpToDate: Clinical Decision Support System
- This link opens in a new window
Current, succinct evidence-based answers to commonly asked questions in clinical practice.
Lexicomp Drug Interactions
- To use Lexicomp Drug Interactions, log in to UpToDate and select 'Drug Interactions' from the menu.
UpToDate Anywhere Mobile App
1. Login to UpToDate through a web browser (either on your mobile device or desktop) using the MSU Library’s UpToDate link
2. Select ‘Register’ and create an UpToDate account
3. From your mobile device, download the UpToDate app
4. Open the app and login with your UpToDate username/password (not your NetID)
In order to maintain access through the app, you will need to login to your UpToDate account through the library’s link every 90 days.

Evidence-Based Practice Resources

ACP Journal Club: Best New Evidence
Annals of Internal Medicine research staff & clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published & a worldwide panel of over 5000 physicians assesses the clinical relevance & newsworthiness of rigorous studies.
EBP Pyramid, Penn State U.
Johns Hopkins Nursing EB Practice Guide
Nurses’ Guide to the Hierarchy of Research Designs and evidence (AJAN article)

Getting the full text of articles

The full text of many articles is available through our databases. If it is not, here are your other options for getting the full text.

Use the Check MSU Availability link within a database. If the article is in a journal to which we subscribe, you will either get linked right to that article (electronic access), to the online journal, or to a link that tells you we have the journal in print only. If we don't subscribe to the journal or only have it in print, you will find a link to get in to Request It! - make a request and we will get a copy from another library for you.

If you have a citation for which you are trying to find full text, use the Journals by Title link under FIND to look for the journale. Journals by Title is a list of all our periodical holdings, both electronic and print. If we subscribe, the Journals by Title link is a quick way to find that out. Again, if we do have the journal, you will be linked to electronic access or information about print.

If the library does not subscribe to a journal, you can request your article through Request It! (under REQUEST on the library home page) and we will get a copy for you from another library. You log in to Request It! using the same username and password you use for D2L (Net/ID and associated password).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar can be a great supplement to library databases but it is NOT a substitute. Library databases include much more content.

To make Google Scholar more useful to you, you can make it check MSU library holdings - giving you more access to the full text of the articles you find cited there. From the first page, open Settings at the top. On the next page, open Library Links on the left side bar. Iin the search box, type in 'Montana State University - Check MSU Availability' and check the box that appears. Then you'll get the Check MSU Availability link when an article is available full-text through MSU.