Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

Natural Resources Research Guide

This guide provides resources and assistance for students in Natural Resource classes.

Purpose

This guide provides a list of MSU Library and web resources for students in Natural Resource classes.

Suggested Databases

The following databases include information about natural resources or related fields:

Find Full-Text Articles

There are different ways to access the full text of an article. Image guide of using CatSearch.

  • Library Homepage (CatSearch)
    • Enter your search terms.
    • The search results will contain a full text available link if the article is located in one of our databases.
    • Click the link in order to open the article.
    • If we do not have the article, then a "Request It!" link will show in the CatSearch record so you can request the article through interlibrary loan (ILL).

 

  • Individual Databases
    • Enter your search terms.
    • The search results will include a full text link to either an HTML or PDF document if the full text is available.
    • If the text is not available in that database, a "Check MSU Availability" link will let you search the other databases for that article.
    • If we do not have the article, then a "Request It!" link will show in the CatSearch record so you can request the article through interlibrary loan (ILL).

Call Numbers for LRES at Renne Library

Search for books and ebooks in the library's collection. The advanced search allows you to search by multiple criteria and limit your search results. There is no limit on the number of books you can check out.

Books in Renne Library are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers.

Agriculture call numbers start with S

Animal science call numbers start with SF

Aquaculture call numbers start with SH

Biology call numbers start with QH

Botany call numbers start with QK

Ecology call numbers start with QH540 - QH549

Environmental resource economics start with HD

Environmental Science call numbers start with GE

Food science call numbers start with TX642 - TX840

Forestry call numbers start with SD

Horticulture call numbers start with SB

Zoology call numbers (including entomology) start with QL

You can see a map of call number locations here.

Request It! through Interlibrary Loan

decorative icon bookThe MSU Library provides interlibrary loan (ILL) services for current students, faculty, staff, and affiliates.  Unfortunately, we are unable to provide this to alumni, retirees, or the general public.

ILL is an agreement to borrow from and loan to other libraries. You can request books (no current semester textbooks), articles, video or audio recordings, government documents, theses/dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, and newspapers. If we can find a source, we’ll try to get it!

Most article requests take 2-3 business days while most loan requests take 3-7 business days.