Skip to main content
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

MSU Library Research & Instruction Guide

This guide will help you locate library research and instructional support resources that are available remotely from MSU Library.

This guide contains timely information to assist with faculty and student access to library resources during the transition to online learning per the Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education on March 12th.

The MSU Library building is closed. The Library continues to support information needs in an online environment. Find out more on our service updates page.

Welcome!

" "Welcome to the MSU Library Research & Instruction Guide. This guide will help you identify important resources in the library including databases, books, e-books and government documents. It also offers assistance for searching within the databases, reading a scholarly journal, and evaluating your sources. Links to other useful guides are also included.

If you need help, please use the Ask Us box to chat with a library staff member or the Contact Us box to email the library or schedule an appointment with a librarian (online consultations are available).

Connecting from Off Campus

In order to access many of the Libraries' electronic articles, books, media, etc., you need to be authenticated as a MSU student or employee.

  • From the library homepage, click the "Advanced Search" option in the lower right-hand corner of the CatSearch Box.
  • Log in to your online library account by selecting the "Sign In" option in the upper right-hand corner of the screen, right of the thumb-tack icon. You will need your NetID and password.
  • ‚ÄčIf you go directly to our A-Z Database list, you will be prompted to enter your NetID and password when you select a database to search.

**Instructors - you cannot access library resources via VPN.**


Top Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Document icon

The MSU Library provides interlibrary loan (ILL) services for current students, faculty, staff, and affiliates.  Unfortunately, we are unable to provide this to alumni, retirees, or the general public.

ILL is an agreement to borrow from and loan to other libraries. You can request books (no current semester textbooks), articles, video or audio recordings, government documents, theses/dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, and newspapers. 

If we can find a source, we’ll try to get it!

Most article requests take 2-3 business days while most loan requests take 3-7 business days.

**Electronic interlibrary loan article and book chapter delivery will continue. Physical interlibrary loan is suspended. **

MSU Library Accessibility Information

For information about accessibility and our building, online resources, and services, see our Accessibility in the Library Webpage

For online library content or collections that are not accessible, the MSU Library will work to provide reasonable accommodations in an appropriate time-frame to users with disabilities. For assistance, or if you have suggestions or comments, please email the library, or contact the library in another way.

For course material or textbooks that are not accessible, submit a request through the Office of Disability Services