Founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the AHA provides leadership for the profession, protects academic freedom, develops professional standards, aids in the pursuit and publication of scholarship, and supplies various services to sustain and enhance the work of its members.
The ASEH advances understanding of human interactions with the natural world by promoting historical research and teaching, and fostering dialogue about human use of the earth among humanists, social and environmental scientists, and the public, illuminating the past and providing perspective on current environmental issues.
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences Online (H-Net) is an independent, non-profit scholarly association that offers an open academic space for scholars, teachers, advanced students and related professionals.
HGSA seeks to enhance the academic and social lives of history department graduate students and other graduate students with an interest in history. It provides a forum for discussion of research, sharing of ideas, and making social connections with peers, all essential aspects of the graduate school experience.
The Merrill G. Burlingame Special Collections of the Montana State University Library is the location for finding comprehensive information on subjects such as Montana agriculture and ranching, history, Native Americans, Yellowstone, and other Montana-focused topics.
The NCHE provides educators in history with access to professional development opportunities, diverse historical organizations, publications and information on developing issues in history education policy, as well as tools for current and archival curriculum guides.
A regional association of professional archivists, users of archives, and others interested in the preservation and use of archival materials in the Pacific Northwest United States, including Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington.
An interdisciplinary organization concerned not only with the history of technological devices and processes but also with technology in history. See their Resources tab for links to useful online resources.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library's mission is to make its resources available and useful to the Congress and the American people and to sustain and preserve a universal collection of knowledge and creativity for future generations. You can search the catalog of holdings online, view digital images, listen to audio files, research copyright, obtain assistance, etc.
The MHS Research Center is a non-circulating library, archive, and photo archive with collections available for onsite use as well as digitized materials available online. Search their collections through gateway links on their web site.
Includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies around the world.
This gateway, which until recently was known as Northwest Digital Archives, offers descriptions of archival and manuscript materials held by institutions in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Alaska, Montana, and Utah.
AAO provides free public access to descriptions of archival collections, preserved and made accessible by Arizona repositories, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums.
The OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California -- including collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses. The OAC is a core component of the University of California's California Digital Library (CDL) and is administered by the Publishing and Special Collections Group.
TARO makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state of Texas available to the public. The site consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online.
An ongoing project to build a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form, providing free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.
The digital collections of the Library of Congress provide free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning. It comprises more than 9 million items and is organized into over 100 thematic collections.
The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology, and contains approximately 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
For primary sources in Montana subjects such as agriculture and ranching, architecture, history, Native Americans, MSU history, prominent citizens, trout and salmonids, Burton K. Wheeler, Yellowstone National Park and the Yellowstone ecosystem.
The New York Public Library Digital Collections contains 900,345 items and counting. While that is a small fraction of the Library's overall holdings, it is representative of the diversity of their vast collections—from books to videos, maps to manuscripts, illustrations to photos, and more.
Current Digital Collections at this site include: * American Indian Ledger Art * Northwest Digital Archives * Early Montana Histories o Progressive Men of Montana o Leeson's History of Montana * Archives Photo Collection * Legacy Forest Service Collection * Early Char-Koosta News
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The principal objectives of the WDL are to: * Promote international and intercultural understanding; * Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet; * Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences; * Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries. Established in 2005, the WDL is created and maintained by partners around the world, primarily libraries, archives, or other institutions that have collections of cultural content that they contribute to the WDL.
Designed for high school and college teachers of U.S. History survey courses, this site is a gateway to resources and teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and threaded discussions on teaching U.S. history. From the American Social History Project/Center for History and the New Media.