Library Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER) at Montana State University: Finding Courses and Ancillaries

Ancillary Materials

Lumen Learning
Using free, open textbooks, Lumen provides interactive, homework systems that can be embedded directly into D2L. They offer training and will help get your course started.
Knewton Alta
An online learning platform that utilizes open textbooks to provide students with integrated and adaptive learning technology.

OER Repositories

OER Commons
Funded by ISKME, OER Commons is a library of OER materials containing over 50,000 high-quality OER.
Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments.
Lumen Learning
Using free, open textbooks, Lumen provides interactive, homework systems that can be embedded directly into D2L. They offer training and will help get your course started.
Openstax CNX (formerly Connexions)
Contains textbooks, articles, supplements, and other learning resources that can be read online or downloaded for free.
MERLOT II
Free, peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials maintained by the California State University System.
AMSER (applied Math and Science Education Repository)
Portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in community and technical Colleges.

Open Courses

Academic Earth
This website acts as a gateway to online courses and content offered by universities such as MIT, UC Berkeley, UCLA, Harvard, Princeton, Stanford, and Yale. Subjects included: Accounting, Art History, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Engineering, Finance, Healthcare Administration, Management, Mathematics, Marketing, Physics, Psychology, Social Work, and Sociology.
MIT Open CourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare is a free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum.
Open Yale Courses (OYC)
Open Yale Courses (OYC) provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge online. The courses span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences.
Open RN
Textbooks and virtual simulations for the completion of an RN degree program.
Saylor Academy
Includes online, self-paced courses in many subjects including, business administration, chemistry, psychology, and more. Created by Saylor Academy, a nonprofit initiative.
Khan Academy
Includes self-paced practice exercises and instructional videos in subjects including math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Khan Academy is a nonprofit organization.

Open Access Journals

Open Access (OA) stands for unrestricted access and unrestricted reuse. Here’s why that matters.

Most publishers own the rights to the articles in their journals. Anyone who wants to read the articles must pay to access them. Anyone who wants to use the articles in any way must obtain permission from the publisher and is often required to pay an additional fee.

Excerpt from Public Library of Science (PLOS).

Digital Commons Network
brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Biomed Central
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology, and Medicine) publisher with an open access publishing model.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
Hybrid Pedagogy
Articles about Critical Digital Pedagogy, working to build student agency in today’s education system.
NASA PubSpace
NASA is preserving and providing public access to peer-reviewed papers from NASA-funded research beginning in 2016.
Open Library of Humanities
A peer-reviewed open access, internationally supported, academic led and high quality multi-journal platform for higher level humanities.
PubMed Central
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Wiley Open Access
Wiley Open Access publishes a number of online journals across biological, chemical and health sciences. "Browse Journals" or search across "all areas."