Library Guides: GIS Resource Guide: Home

Guide to geographic information

Geographic information by Johnson, Jenny Marie
ISBN: 1573563927
Johnson steers her readers through the massive amounts of geographic information available through the Internet, satellite technology, and other sources. In addition to map basics she covers geographic information systems, geographical standards, organizations, instructional resources, commercial publications, and careers in geography. The titles and items chosen for inclusion have been deemed the best by users and librarians, are fundamental to understanding specific kinds of information resources, or illustrate specific points or outputs by publishers of interest.

Selected reference books

Reference books are the ones to refer to for specific information but not usually to read cover to cover. The reference collection is on the first floor and the books there do not circulate.

A to Z GIS : an illustrated dictionary of geographic information systems by Wade, Tasha
Call Number: G70.212.A86 2006 Reference [1st Floor]
ISBN: 1589481402
Encyclopedia of geographic information science by Kemp, Karen K.
Call Number: G70.212.E53 2008 Reference [1st Floor] and ebook
ISBN: 9781412913133
Encyclopedia of geography by Warf, Barney
Call Number: G63.E554 2010 Reference [1st Floor] and ebook
ISBN: 9781412956970
Encyclopedia of GIS by Shekhar, Shashi
Call Number: G70.212.E534 [Basement] and ebook
ISBN: 9780387359731
Also available electronically (click on the title link above and then "Click for Licensed access for MSU-Bozeman" in the catalog record.

Selected GIS books in the general collection

Just a sampling of some of the newer GIS resources in the general collection (these can check out).

CAD and GIS integration by Karimi, Hassan A.
Call Number: G70.28.C33 2010 [Basement]
ISBN: 9781420068054
GIS for building and managing infrastructure by ESRI
Call Number: HC79.C3G57 [Basement]
ISBN: 9781589482524
GIS, environmental modeling and engineering by Brimicombe, Allan
Call Number: G70.212.B75 [Basement]
ISBN: 9781439808702
Mapping : a critical introduction to cartography and GIS by Crampton, Jeremy W.
Call Number: GA102.4.E4C73 [Basement] and ebook
ISBN: 9781405121729
The GIS 20 by Gina Clemmer
Call Number: G70.212.C58 2018 [Basement]
ISBN: 1589485122
Publication Date: 2018-01-22
GIS is your tool, not your career. How can you quickly begin applying GIS in your work? The GIS 20: Essential Skills, third edition, presents step-by-step instructions, illustrations, and practical tips on how to perform the top 20 skills needed to successfully use a geographic information system (GIS). These skills include finding and editing data, querying GIS maps, creating reports, and sharing and publishing maps. The e-book of The GIS 20: Essential Skills, 9781589485136, $49.99, is available at most online book retailers.

Subject specific indexes & databases

The indexes below are specific to geography. GIS information crosses subject lines, so you will also find useful information in databases focusing on the environment, engineering, economics and so on. Go to our databases page to see all available resources.

GeoRef
- This link opens in a new window
GeoRef is an international index that includes citations and abstracts to the literature of geology and related disciplines. It is the online version of the American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 2.7 million records. It covers North American topics published since 1785 and other areas of the world since 1933. The database is the equivalent of four major reference publications: Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of Nort
GeoScienceWorld
- This link opens in a new window
GeoScienceWorld includes the full text more than 45 geosciences journals along with additional citations from the GeoRef database. The GeoRef citations do not link to MSU Library holdings.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Science Citation Index Expanded (includes bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 scholarly science and technical journals) and to Social Sciences Citation Index (includes bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 social science journals along with selected items from another 3,300 scientific, technical, and art and humanities journals).

Web sites of interest

EPA Geospatial Data Access Project
From the United States Environmental Protection Agency
Geospatial Data Gateway
Natural resources or environmental data made available by the USDA: NRCS (United States Department of Agriculture:Natural Resources Conservation Service).
Geospatial Data Report - blog from Northwestern University Library
An educational, nonprofit, no-ads, GIS data directory.
GIS bibliography
According to the ESRI website, the "bibliography covers the literature of geographic information systems, science, and technology. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports from the origins of GIS to the present. There are currently 109,928 entries in the Esri GIS Bibliography."
GIS.com
A portal to GIS information on the Web and was created by ESRI (Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc.).
Montana Geographic Information Clearinghouse
Collection of geospatial data for Montana.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
NHGIS " provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010."
National Map
From USGS, "The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation." Includes downloadable data.