It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access Montana Sanborn fire insurance maps electronically.
Note: if you are a Montana resident but not affiliated with MSU (ie not a student, faculty or staff member), you won't be able to access our subscription online but are welcome to come into the library to use the database. You can also contact the Montana Historical Society at email@example.com or (406) 444-2681 to get online access.
Online access to over 6000 sheets in the following states: AK, AL, AZ, CA, CT, DC, GA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MO, MS, NC, NE, NH, NJ, NV, OH, PA, TX, VA, VT, WY and Canada, Mexico, Cuba sugar warehouses, and U.S. whiskey warehouses.
A number of Sanborn Fire Insurance maps, including those for Montana, are also available on microfilm in Archives and Special Collections. To find specific collections, search CatSearch.
The American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection currently contains over 700 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. The digital collection is under continuing development.
Provides access to digital representations of maps found in the Geography and Maps Division of the Library of Congress and covering the years 1500-1999. Search using keywords or browse the subject, title, creator and geographic indexes to find maps that are focused on Americana and cartographic treasures found in the Library of Congress.
A project of the William M. Scholl Center for American History and Culture at The Newberry Library in Chicago, the Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia.
A historical map collection with over 21,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
From the Mapping Montana site: Research Montana and the West using maps from the collections of various institutions throughout the state of Montana, including contributions from the Montana Historical Society Research Center and The University of Montana Mansfield Library. This collection includes everything from territorial maps to present day topographic maps.