Montana State University subscribes to primary source databases that provide access to digital archives around the world. These databases are only available to members of the MSU community with full access to MSU Library resources.
In A-Z Databases & Online Resources search formats by “Primary Sources” to see the full list of primary source database at MSU
Popular Subscription Primary Source Databases
Search across all Adam Matthew collections to find manuscripts, government records, rare books, maps and more, across a wide range of disciplines, from History to English Literature, Gender Studies, Sociology, Economics, Area Studies, Political Sciences and more.
Trial access ends December 6, 2024.
This link opens in a new windowMagazines and journals chronicling the development of America (1740 - 1940)
This link opens in a new windowPrimary source material that includes topically-focused digital collections of historical documents
This link opens in a new windowSearch the full-text of the Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-current) and Washington Post (1877-2000) simultaneously
This link opens in a new windowDigitized materials from the Smithsonian's vast collection related to U.S. history in the 19th and 20th century
This link opens in a new windowContains U.S. government agency annual reports, treaties, presidential documents, legislative reports, and more
There are other open access databases around the web that also host digital archives online. These resources are available for anyone to access online.
Popular Open Access Primary Source Databases
Only a fraction of archives around the world are available digitally. Most are still only available in physical formats. Archival aggregators typically provide access to collection finding aids and records from multiple institutions to help researchers find physical archives across many different libraries and museums. Some include links to digitized items or full collections; most do not.
Local and Regional Archive Aggregators
National and International Archive Aggregators
Unless otherwise noted the content on this LibGuide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.