Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

BIOM 210RN

Environmental Health Science

Starting Your Search

Enter Keywords to Start Your Search

  1. Starting from the library website lib.montana.edu
  2. Enter search terms in the CatSearch box
  3. Limit by Availability and Resource Type on the search results page
  4. Limit to 'Peer reviewed' if needed
  5. Limit by subject, author, date and others, on the right of the search results page

​​​​​​​screen shot of steps

Online Access

  1. Click on an item from the search results.
  2. Click on 'Full Text Available' if the library has access, then follow the light blue links to get the full article from one of the listed databases

screenshot of links for full text available                  

Physical Access

  1. Limit to books, or physical collection if needed.
  2. Click on the item from your search results. 
  3. Sign in, if needed
  4. Click Place Hold, and you will get an email when the item is ready to be picked up at the front desk. 

" "

Video: Using CatSearch in Less than 60 Seconds:

The video shows the same steps outlined above. This is in place of a transcript, because there are no spoken words in the video.

Search Now in CatSearch

CatSearch- for articles, books, and more!

Finding Databases by Subject

  1. ​​​​​​Starting from the library homepage,  lib.montana.edu,
  2. Click Find
  3. Click Articles & Research Databases
  4. Click the All Subjects drop down menu to filter by subject. 
  5. Choose your subject. A list of suggested databases will appear. 
  6. Select a database to start searching in, then enter keywords – if there are multiple search boxes, enter one keyword per box. 

Find, Articles, By Subject

Video: Finding Databases by Subject:

The video shows the same steps outlined above. This is in place of a transcript, because there are no spoken words in the video.

Finding Full-Text Articles in Subject Databases

  1. Choose a database
  2. Enter keywords to search. Example: Dogs AND (Depression OR anxiety)
  3. Filter by peer-reviewed articles, by subject, date, etc. 
  4. Download the PDF of articles with full text access
  5. OR, Click Check MSU availability to check if we have access elsewhere
    1. If we do have access, download the PDF 
    2. OR, Click Request it! and the library will try to get a free copy from another library 

" "

Video: Finding Databases by Subject:

The video shows the same steps outlined above. This is in place of a transcript, because there are no spoken words in the video.

Resources for Instructors