Library Guides: History Research Guide: Professional Resources for Historians

Professional Resources for Historians

American Association for State & Local History
AASLH provides leadership and support for its members who preserve and interpret state and local history to make the past more meaningful.
American Historical Association
Access resources for the historical profession, such as conference calendars, directories, links to Web resources, etc.
more...less...
Founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the AHA provides leadership for the profession, protects academic freedom, develops professional standards, aids in the pursuit and publication of scholarship, and supplies various services to sustain and enhance the work of its members.
American Society for Environmental History
The ASEH advances understanding of human interactions with the natural world by promoting historical research and teaching, and fostering dialogue about human use of the earth among humanists, social and environmental scientists, and the public, illuminating the past and providing perspective on current environmental issues.
H-Net
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences Online (H-Net) is an independent, non-profit scholarly association that offers an open academic space for scholars, teachers, advanced students and related professionals.
International Council on Archives (ICA)
Dedicated to the effective management of records and the preservation, care and use of the world's archival heritage through its representation of records and archive professionals across the globe.
Montana Historical Society
Located in Helena, MT -- Phone: (406) 444-2694; Email: mhslibrary@mt.gov
more...less...
One of the oldest institutions of its kind west of the Mississippi River. Contact for information about Montana's Museum, the Montana Historical Society Press, Montana The Magazine of Western History, the Montana State Historic Preservation Office, and the MHS Research Center.
Montana State University (MSU) Department of History and Philosophy
Discover study options, courses, resources, faculty, and events.
MSU History Graduate Students Association
HGSA seeks to enhance the academic and social lives of history department graduate students and other graduate students with an interest in history. It provides a forum for discussion of research, sharing of ideas, and making social connections with peers, all essential aspects of the graduate school experience.
MSU Library Archives & Special Collections
Located on the 2nd floor of the MSU Library in Bozeman; check web site for open hours.
more...less...
The Merrill G. Burlingame Special Collections of the Montana State University Library is the location for finding comprehensive information on subjects such as Montana agriculture and ranching, history, Native Americans, Yellowstone, and other Montana-focused topics.
National Council for History Education
The NCHE provides educators in history with access to professional development opportunities, diverse historical organizations, publications and information on developing issues in history education policy, as well as tools for current and archival curriculum guides.
Northwest Archivists
A regional association of professional archivists, users of archives, and others interested in the preservation and use of archival materials in the Pacific Northwest United States, including Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington.
Organization of American Historians
Focused primarily on the studying and teaching of American history, the OAH invests its efforts in promoting best practices for instruction, presentation and scholarship.
Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)
An interdisciplinary organization concerned not only with the history of technological devices and processes but also with technology in history. See their Resources tab for links to useful online resources.
Society of American Archivists
North America's oldest and largest national professional association dedicated to the needs and interests of archives and archivists.
World History Association
Promoting the cross-cultural, global study of world history, the WHA is an umbrella organization that works with other associations to support the efforts of researching and teaching world history.