Skip to Main Content
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

Reading List - 2020 Spring Convocation Award Winner Recommendations

Books to encourage reading, exploration, creativity, and cross-disciplinary discovery

About Spring Convocation

undefinedMontana State University presented its annual awards ceremony for faculty and staff as part of Spring Convocation on Thursday, January 9, 2020. Student advisers, teachers, and researchers from across campus were honored for their achievements in research, teaching, outreach, and creative projects. 

In recognition of their award and in gratitude for their work at MSU, the library asked award winners to recommend a book to encourage reading, exploration, creativity, and cross-disciplinary discovery. Recommendations were displayed in Bobcat Browse, a popular reading collection located in the library’s atrium, at the beginning of the spring semester.

Recommended books were given a book plate listing the award winner, their department, college, or office, award name, and year awarded. 

Award Winners

For the first time, MSU Library presented an award at the Spring Convocation ceremony. The Excellence in Open Education award was created to undefinedrecognize a faculty member for their work in making Open Educational Resources available to students. This year's winner was Mark Greenwood in the department of mathematical sciences. His textbook “Intermediate Statistics with R” is one of the most highly used items in the ScholarWorks repository. Congratulations to Dr. Greenwood and to all of the award winners. 

Christina Anderson, School of Film and Photography
James and Mary Ross Provost’s Award for Excellence

David Ayala, Mathematical Sciences
Cox Faculty Award for Creative Scholarship and Teaching

Ann Bertagnolli, Montana INBRE
Women’s Faculty Caucus Distinguished Mentor Award

MacDonald Burgess, Plant Sciences and Plant Pathology
Teaching Innovation Award

Robert Carson, Education
Excellence in Online Education

Shantell Frame-Martin, Land Resources and Environmental Sciences
Excellence in Outreach/Staff

Paul Gannon, Chemical and Biological Engineering
Provost’s Award for Undergraduate Research/Creativity Mentoring

Mark Greenwood, Mathematical Sciences
Excellence in Open Education

Julia Haggerty, Earth Sciences
Betty Coffey Award

Sara Heller, Health and Human Development
Academic Advising Award/Staff

Brock LaMeres, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Fox Faculty Award

Rob Maher, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Phi Kappa Phi Anna K. Fridley Award

John Melick, Education
Excellence in Innovative Service

Garrett Moraski, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Vice President for Research’s Meritorious Technology/Science Award

Lucia Ricciardelli, School of Film and Photography
President’s Award for Excellence in Service Learning

Joseph Shaw, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Provost’s Award for Graduate Research/Creativity Mentoring

Alanna Sherstad, VOICE Center
President’s Commission on the Status of University Women

Steve Swinford, Sociology and Anthropology
Academic Advising Award/Faculty

Cathy Whitlock, Earth Sciences
Excellence in Outreach/Faculty

Blake Wiedenheft, Microbiology and Immunology
Charles and Nora Wiley Award for Meritorious Research and Creativity

Sweeney Windchief, Department of Education
President’s Excellence in Teaching Award

Cathy Zabinski, Land Resources and Environmental Sciences
Women in Science Distinguished Professorship