The 2012 USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map is the standard by which gardeners and growers can determine which plants are most likely to thrive at a location. The map is based on the average annual minimum winter temperature, divided into 10-degree F zones.
Plant selection is a very important step in the Landscape Design Sequence. The process of plant selection begins in the Draft Design stage and is finished in the Completed Landscape Design. Elements of Design are the characteristics we use in the selection of plants. Choosing the right plant for the right place and purpose adds greatly to the sustainability of a landscape.
Our ecoregional planting guides, Selecting Plants for Pollinators, are tailored to specific areas of the United States. You can find out which ecoregion you live in and get your free guide by entering your zip code below.
Includes Yard and Garden MontGuides, garden guides, diagnostic help, pest index, soil testing information, northern gardening tips, climatological and frost-freeze data, and a vegetable planting guide.
Most plants used in horticulture and agriculture are not native to this continent. The vast majority of these introduced plants serve their purpose and benefit humankind without problem; however a few escape cultivation and become invasive. This guide reviews characteristics of invasive species and lists noxious weeds prohibited by the Montana State Department of Agriculture and individual Montana counties.
North, south, east, or west -- find out what to do when in your garden with our free regional reports. In each monthly newsletter, you'll receive timely gardening advice, tips, resources, and news that will help you get the most from your garden and landscape wherever you live.
Welcome to the latest edition of the Native Plants Database where you can explore the wealth of native plants in North America. Use the options below to search for 7,947 native plants by scientific or common name or choose a particular family of plants.
Use Plant Information Online to discover sources in 1007 North American nurseries for 95147 plants, find 321078 citations to 172698 plants in science and garden literature, link to selected websites for images and regional information about 18100 plants, and access information on 2743 North American seed and nursery firms. Plant Information Online is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries.
The HortiPlex database contains plant images and data as well as links to information sources, images and vendors at other sites. Searches may be limited to: just those records with images or links to images; records with vendor links; or, records of botanical taxa.
PlantSearch is the Horticultural Industry's First and Best Updated source for finding plants and allied supplies. Updated daily, this site unites buyers and sellers throughout the world. Registration is free.
Hortivar is FAO´s database on performances of horticulture cultivars in relation to agro-ecological conditions, cultivation practices, the occurrence of pests and diseases and timing of the production. It covers six categories of horticultural crops: fruits, vegetables, roots and tubers, ornamentals, mushrooms, herbs and condiments.
This diagnostic database contains information about many common Missoula County plants, and the pests and diseases which affect them. It provides the Missoula County Extension Services / Missoula County Integrated Pest Management Committee guidelines for both pest monitoring and least toxic options for management of pests and diseases in the landscape and garden.
FNA presents for the first time, in one published reference source, information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico. The Flora will appear in 30 volumes and will be available in print and on the Web.
An authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
Look up and view photos and read about the over 6,400 plants which are growing or have been grown in the Kemper Center display gardens (plus selected additions) by scientific name, common name and/or selected plant characteristics.