Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

US 101: First Year Seminar

This guide will help you complete your research assignment for US 101.

Annotated Biblography

Start here!

The following slide deck (10 slides) walks you through how to start, format, and construct an annotated Bibliography.

Parts of an Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a bibliography in which each entry or citation is accompanied by an annotation--a statement, ranging in length from a sentence or two to an entire paragraph, which may describe, explain, and evaluate each item. 

Components of an Annotation

Full citation, formatted in the specified style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)

A paragraph that summarizes the main points.

A paragraph that evaluates the accuracy and quality of the source. 

A paragraph that explains how the information is useful or relevant to your topic.

 

What's an annotated bibliography?

Other Resources

The Online Writing Lab (or OWL) at Purdue University has some excellent online information about such bibliographies. See Purdue Owl: Annotated Bibliography. You can use this site to get an overview of what an annotated bibliography is and how to write one yourself.

The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has a great handout with information on Annotated Bibliographies. See Annotated Bibliographies at UNC Chapel Hill.