Library Guides: EDU 101:Teaching & Learning: A Critical Introduction to the Education Profession: Locate content

Finding books

Books & Media (MSU Library Catalog)

Use the catalog to find print books in the Renne Library collection.

CatSearch

Use CatSearch to locate print books, e-books, articles, films, and more on your topic!

Education databases

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is a database maintained by the U. S. Department of Education.

Use the first link to library's subscription option to ERIC, while you are at MSU. This option let you take advantage of the library's access to full-text (Check MSU Availability). You will be asked for your NetID and password if you are accessing ERIC or other subscription databases, ebooks, e-journals, etc., from off campus.
When you are no longer affiliated with MSU, you can use the freely available ERIC site. It does contain a growing amount of full-text. For many journal articles, you would need to request them through your local library's interlibrary loan service.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ERIC Database includes citations and abstracts to educational journal articles (from the Current Index to Journals in Education [CIJE]) and educational documents (from the Research in Education [RIE]. Many of the educational documents are available online with older ones available in the basement microform room by their ED number. ERIC is also available directly on the Web at eric.ed.gov version but without any information about MSU Bozeman journal holdings.

ERIC (open access site)
PsycInfo
Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including sociology, anthropology, education, and linguistics.
MORE Education databases.......
There are many more useful Education-related databases beyond ERIC and PsycInfo! Follow this link to explore them!

Multidisciplinary databases/research tools

These multidisciplinary databases include content on education as well as a number of other subjects. To access the Library's subject-specific databases, go to the Articles & Research Databases link under FIND on the Library homepage and then the By Subject.

You will be asked for a username and password if you are accessing these databases from off campus - just use your D2L credentials (NetID/password).

CatSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use CatSearch o search most, but not all of our resources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a full-text and bibliographic database with coverage of the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more. It includes citations, abstracts, full text, and images.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac PowerSearch is our largest database, including the entire content of five other databases: InfoTrac General OneFile (formerly InfoTrac OneFile), Academic OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center, InfoTrac Custom Newspapers, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library. It includes the full text of journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, and opinions.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides full text access to opinion writing on both sides of issues. Based on the Opposing Viewpoints series from Greenhaven Press along with sources from other publishers, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center includes viewpoint articles; topic overviews; magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; statistics; images; podcasts; and links to Web sites. The database also includes Lexile reading level designations for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

LinkedInLearning - Tutorial Database
Find tutorials for learning iMovie, Microsoft Office, Adobe, and much, much more!

Finding full text

The full text of many articles is available through our databases. If it is not, here are your other options for getting the full text.

Use the Check MSU Availability link within a database. If the article is in a journal to which we subscribe, you will either get linked right to that article (electronic access) or be linked into the library catalog to get a call number so you can find the journal in the library (print access). If we don't subscribe to the journal, you will find a link to get in to Request It! - make a request and we will get a copy from another library for you.

If you have a citation for which you are trying to find full text, use the Journals by Title link to look for the journal by title. The JournaList is a list of all our periodicals holdings, both electronic and print. If we subscribe, the JournaList is a quick way to find that out. Again, if we do have the journal, you will be linked to electronic access or to the catalog to get a call number. The Journals & Magazines link can be found under FIND on the library's home page.

If the library does not subscribe to a journal, you can request your article through Request It! and we will get a copy for you from another library. You can log in directly to Request It! using the same username and password you use for D2L (Net/ID and associated password). Again, you can also get to Request It! under REQUEST on the library's home page. You can also request that a print article or book chapter be scanned for you or you can ask that a book be held for you at the circulation desk for pick up.