Library Guides: Citation Research at MSU: Citation analysis

What is citation analysis?

Citation analysis is a way to determine the impact of an author, an article, or an institution by tracking the number of times a work or an author has been cited by others. Unfortunately, this is not a simple process because there is no single source that covers all publications or their cited references. This section of the guide highlights some resources at the MSU Library that can help in the creation of citation counts.

ScholarWorks: MSU's Open Access Research Repository

ScholarWorks captures the intellectual work of Montana State University in an open access institutional repository. ScholarWorks is a central point of discovery for accessing, collecting, sharing, preserving, and distributing knowledge to the MSU community and the world.

The library can help assess the copyright of papers for submission into ScholarWorks.

Learn how to submit, and how ScholarWorks can help you to boost your citation rates as well as to archive your publications, making it accessible to other researchers everwhere.

ScholarWorks (includes MSU Electronic Theses & Dissertations)
Open Access research published by Montana State University faculty and students including theses & dissertations and journal articles

Databases with citation tracking

Business Source Complete
BSC covers business, management, finance, accounting, international business, and economics. Once in BSC, click on the MORE link at the top to see the Cited References option (note that many other EBSCO databases provide cited reference searching as well, including Academic Search Complete, a large interdisciplinary database)
Google Scholar
Citation information limited to articles within the Google Scholar and Google Patents database.
PsycInfo
Comprehensive coverage of cited references from 2001 forward; some cited references from 1998. Search for the author or article title and look for items in the search results that have "Cited by (#)" at the bottom of the entry. Click on the link to see the articles from the ProQuest databases that cite the original source.
PsycInfo is the online version of Psychological Abstracts and provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
Sociological Abstracts
Cited references from core journals from 2002 forward; cited references from all other journals from 2004 forward. Search for the author or article title and look for items in the search results that have "Cited by (#)" at the bottom of the entry. Click on the link to see the articles from the ProQuest databases that cite the original source.
Sociological Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting database covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection
Use (Cited by) in the results list or the Cited Reference Search tab. Citation alerts can also be set up.
Web of Science Core Collection provides access two major sources: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from ISI.