Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

eReaders, Tablets, and eBooks

Information on eReaders, tablet computers, and other devices for reading eBooks on smaller devices and using such devices with other library resources

Handbooks in Economics

The Handbooks in Economics series continues to provide the various branches of economics with handbooks which are definitive reference sources, suitable for use by professional researchers, advanced graduate students, or by those seeking a teaching supplement. With contributions from leading researchers, each Handbook presents an accurate, self-contained survey of the current state of the topic under examination. These surveys summarize the most recent discussions in journals, and elucidate new developments. Although original material is also included, the main aim of this series is the provision of comprehensive and accessible surveys.The Handbooks are indispensable reference works which belong in every professional collection, and form ideal supplementary reading for graduate economics students on advanced courses. The Handbooks are now also available electronically via ScienceDirect.

DIRECT LINK TO HANDBOOKS IN ECONOMICS

EReaders and Handbooks in Economics

To View Documents and eBooks from a Computer or Device Browser:

  1. From the library's homepage, click on Articles & Research Databases.
  2. Under "by format," click on +full list.
  3. Select Ebooks.
  4. Select Handbooks in Economics.
  5. Once you have chosen a book to view, click on the title.
  6. On the left, click "Access on ScienceDirect."
  7. Find the chapter you wish to view, then click on the pdf link to view.  (ScienceDirect eBooks can be downloaded to your desktop on a chapter-by-chapter basis.  That is, you will have to download each chapter individually.)


On Kindle:

  1. Follow steps 1-7 above in your Kindle browser.*

or

  1. Follow steps 1-7 above on your laptop or desktop computer.
  2. Click the floppy disk icon or choose "Save Page As" from the file menu.
  3. Save the document (as a pdf) to your desktop or selected folder.
  4. Upload document onto your Kindle following these instructions.

*Some Kindles have browser capabilities.  Depending on which version of the Kindle you have, it may be possible to get pdfs online directly from the Kindle by logging in through MSU's proxy server.  For other versions, you will not be able to do this and must instead download documents onto a desktop, then upload them onto your Kindle.


On Nook:

  1. Follow steps 1-7 above in your Nook browser.*

or

  1. Follow steps 1-7 above on your laptop or desktop computer.
  2. Click the floppy disk icon or choose "Save Page As" from the file menu.
  3. Save the document (as a pdf) to your desktop or selected folder.
  4. Upload document onto your Nook following these instructions.

*Some Nooks have browser capabilities.  Depending on which version of the Nook you have, it may be possible to get pdfs online directly from the Kindle by logging in through MSU's proxy server.  For other versions, you will not be able to do this and must instead download documents onto a desktop, then upload them onto your Nook.


To View Documents and eBooks from an iPad or Other Mobile Device:

  1. Follow steps 1-7 above in your mobile device browser.
  2. If you wish to save PDFs from the web to your device then you will need to explore ways to do this, depending on what device you are using.  For example, the iPad does not have a native app to do this, but there are several options that exist, including GoodReader and Web to PDF.

or

  1. You can also access the ScienceDirect Mobile app.  Find out more here.  You will need to register for a free username and password in order to use this app.  A list of supported platforms and devices is available here.

or

  1. Follow steps 1-7 above on your laptop or desktop computer.
  2. Click the floppy disk icon or choose "Save Page As" from the file menu.
  3. Save the document (as a pdf) to your desktop or selected folder.
  4. Upload document onto your device using the USB port (if available).  iPad users can upload documents using iDisk, following these instructions. Another option is to use the Dropbox app.  More information about Dropbox can be found here.

Has Something Changed?

Has something changed?  Is this information out of date?  Are the instruction unclear?

Please let us know so that we can update this guide:

Leave a comment below!