Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

eReaders, Tablets, and eBooks

Information on eReaders, tablet computers, and other devices for reading eBooks on smaller devices and using such devices with other library resources

CRCnetBASE

CRCnetBASE provides online access to reference resources from CRC Press.  It is available on networked computers on the MSU campus and via the proxy server.

CRCnetBASE is made up of over 8000 online books that span over 40 disciplines. In addition to e-books published under the imprint CRC Press, CRCnetBASE also includes online references from Auerbach and Chapman & Hall.

In 1999, CRC Press set out on a groundbreaking venture to bring its renowned printed references and handbooks to the online market. The result was CRCnetBASE. In its infancy, CRCnetBASE offered two e-book collections, which focused on the disciplines of engineering and chemistry, and included online versions of renowned handbooks, such as the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and the Mechanical Engineering Handbook.

DIRECT LINK TO CRCnetBASE

EReaders and CRCnetBASE

To View Documents and eBooks from a Computer:

  1. From the library's homepage, click on Articles & Research Databases.
  2. Under "by format," click on +full list.
  3. Select Ebooks.
  4. Select CRCnetBASE.
  5. Click on "Browse Content"
  6. Once you have chosen a book to view, click on the title.
  7. Find the chapter you wish to view, then click on the pdf link to view.  (CRCnetBASE eBooks can be downloaded to your desktop on a chapter-by-chapter basis.  That is, you will have to download each chapter individually.)


On Kindle:

  1. Follow Computer steps 1-7 above in your Kindle browser.*

or

  1. Follow steps 1-7 above on your laptop or desktop computer.
  2. CRCnetBASE eBooks can be downloaded to your desktop on a chapter-by-chapter basis.  That is, you will have to download each chapter individually.
  3. Choose the chapter you wish to download.
  4. Click "Download PDF."
  5. Click the floppy disk icon or choose "Save Page As" from the file menu.
  6. Save the document (as a pdf) to your desktop or selected folder.
  7. Upload document onto your Kindle following these instructions.

*Some Kindles have browser capabilities.  Depending on which version of the Kindle you have, it may be possible to view documents online directly from the Kindle, if you are on campus or by logging in through MSU's proxy server.  For other versions, you will not be able to do this and must instead download documents onto a desktop, then upload them onto your Kindle.


On Nook:

  1. Follow steps 1-7 above in your Nook browser.*

or

  1. Follow steps 1-7 above on your laptop or desktop computer.
  2. CRCnetBASE eBooks can be downloaded to your desktop on a chapter-by-chapter basis.  That is, you will have to download each chapter individually.
  3. Choose the chapter you wish to download.
  4. Click "Download PDF."
  5. Click the floppy disk icon or choose "Save Page As" from the file menu.
  6. Save the document (as a pdf) to your desktop or selected folder.
  7. Upload document onto your Nook following these instructions.

*Some Nooks have browser capabilities.  Depending on which version of the Nook you have, it may be possible to view documents online directly from the Kindle by logging in through MSU's proxy server.  For other versions, you will not be able to do this and must instead download documents onto a desktop, then upload them onto your Nook.


To View Documents and eBooks from an iPad or Other Mobile Device:

CRCnetBASE Mobile is simple and easy to use. Just visit crcnetbase.com from any mobile device. If you are using campus wi-fi, you will automatically have access to content subscribed by MSU.  If you wish to access CRCnetBASE from off campus, you must pair your device. You can pair manually by obtaining a passcode. Passcodes must be obtained while accessing crcnetbase from an on-campus computer. To obtain a passcode, visit this website: https://www.crcnetbase.com/action/mobileDevicePairingLogin.  You must register for a free CRCnetBASE account in order to obtain a passcode. 

  1. If you have a registered account, enter your user name and password.  Or, if you are a new user, enter your name, email address, and password.
  2. Click "Obtain Passcode" and make a note of your case-insensitive passcode, which is valid for 5 minutes.
  3. Enter your passcode into the Mobile app on your mobile device.

Once you have paired your mobile device, follow these steps:

  1. From the library's homepage, click on Articles & Research Databases.
  2. Under "by format," click on +full list.
  3. Select Ebooks.
  4. Select CRCnetBASE.
  5. Browse content by selecting or tapping the grey arrows (you can also navigate as you would on a desktop computer by clicking on "View Main Site," in which case, follow steps 1-7 for Computer.  You can always return to the mobile site by clicking "Visit Mobile Site."
  6. Find the chapter you wish to view, then select the grey arrow.
  7. Scroll down and click on "View PDF."
  8. If you wish to save PDFs from the web to your device then you will need to explore ways to do this, depending on what device you are using.  For example, the iPad does not have a native app to do this, but there are several options that exist, including GoodReader and Web to PDF.

PLEASE NOTE: The CRCnetBASE mobile site allows you to view titles whose content is not available through MSU's subscription.  You will not be able to access the text of all items.

or

  1. Follow steps 1-7 for laptop or desktop computer.
  2. CRCnetBASE eBooks can be downloaded to your desktop on a chapter-by-chapter basis.  That is, you will have to download each chapter individually.
  3. Choose the chapter you wish to download.
  4. Click "Download PDF."
  5. Click the floppy disk icon or choose "Save Page As" from the file menu.
  6. Save the document (as a pdf) to your desktop or selected folder.
  7. Upload document onto your device using the USB port (if available).  iPad users can upload documents using iDisk, following these instructions. Another option is to use the Dropbox app.  More information about Dropbox can be found here.

Has Something Changed?

Has something changed?  Is this information out of date?  Are the instruction unclear?

Please let us know so that we can update this guide:

Leave a comment below!