Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

Faculty Services

Teaching Tools

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open educational resources are anything from textbooks to assignments and interactive materials for teaching and learning. They are free for you and your students to access and use.  They can be modified and edited to specifically meet your course outline and learning objectives.

Considering or switching your course to OER? That's amazing! Because we believe in the ability of open education to make higher ed more equitable, and teaching materials more diverse, inclusive, and supportive of every students' learning needs, we are here to support you through that process with:decorative icon

  • Professional development opportunities for faculty to learn more about OER every semester. Visit our Calendar to learn more.
  • An online course that walks you step-by-step through changing to an open education curriculum.
  • OER Grant Fund  to support faculty in changing their curriculum or creating new openly licensed materials. 
  • Support Open Pedagogy practices with CC Licensing best practices.

Open Access Resources

Our Archives and Special Collections house some incredible primary sources, rich Yellowstone and Montana history documents, and so much more! Materials from these Collections are great resources and can be used in your class as course materials.  Meet with one of our Archives and Special Collections Librarians to talk about how.  Want more open access resources?  Visit ScholarWorks to see the publications and research being produced right here at MSU.

Teaching Support

teaching iconFirst time teaching?  Looking for new, innovative idea? The Library holds a variety of learning resources to help you on your professional journey. Our top pick: Teaching Professor. For more, see below.

MSU's Center for Faculty Excellence (CFE) not only provides a wide array of professional support but continuously hosts quality learning opportunities for all faculty. 

From connecting with Faculty Learning Communities, to One-on-One Support, the CFE, the Library, and the office of Academic Technology & Outreach are all here to help make your teaching experience the very best.

EBooks, Journals, & Databases for Teaching

eBooks 

You'll find gems like these and more in our eBook Collections

The Online Teaching Survival Guide : Simple and Practical Pedagogical Tips Cover ImageThe online teaching survival guide : simple and practical pedagogical tips Essential reading for online instructors, updated to cover new and emerging issues and technologies

Small Teaching: Everyday Lessons from the Science of Learning  In Small Teaching, James Lang presents a strategy for improving student learning with a series of modest but powerful changes that make a big difference--many of which can be put into practice in a single class period. These strategies are designed to bridge the chasm between primary research and the classroom environment in a way that can be implemented by any faculty in any discipline.

Collaborative Learning Techniques : A Handbook for College Faculty  A guide to thirty-five creative assignments for pairs and groups


Journals for Online Teaching

Databases

Explora Educator's Edition
Includes content relevant to teachers, including lessons plans and curriculum standards

ERIC   Database Details    Accessibility Information & Documentation   The primary education research database: includes articles and other resources, including lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and more. ERIC is also available directly on the Web at http://eric.ed.gov/.   in a new window