Skip to main content
Ask the Library
Enter Search Words
Web Searching: Home
Guide to using free search engines for open web content
Request It! (Interlibrary Loan)
Journals by Title
Ask the Library
Ask a Librarian
Need help? Article unavailable? Ask Us!
Email a Question
Call Us! 406-994-3171
Text Us! 406-219-1060
Web Search Engines
Currently the most popular and largest web search engine
Google Scholar (with links to MSU content)
Books, articles, and citations to mostly scholarly content from Google. From off-campus, you'll need to log in, but then you'll have the "Check MSU Availability" link so you can access library-purchased articles.
Search the full text of many scanned books. Note that many of the copyrighted, post-1923 books will only have limited viewing available.
Last 30 days of web-based news sites, some blogs, and links to older news archive.
Note that some items in the news archive may require payment for access, and yet the library may have access to those through other links for free. Ask a Librarian for more information.
As of 2009, the primary competitor to Google. From Microsoft.
Formerly known as MSN Search and then Live Search, Bing became the new brand for Microsoft's search engine in 2009.
In 2010 may start using the Bing database but will maintain its own user interface.
One of the most cited and visited news sources online
Yet another alternative with extensive question and answer database.
Also useful for its blog search and alternative database.
Directories (Find Web Sites by Subject)
UK-based, but aims to "help you find the best web sites for study and research" but closed in July 2011
ipl2: Information You Can Trust
Librarians' Internet Index and Internet Public Library: selected, trusted web sites organized by topic
More an encyclopedia than a directory, but look at the "External Links" and the "References" at the bottom of the article for links to some of the best web pages for that topic.
Montana State University Library
Accounting & Taxes
Biography & Genealogy
Company & Industry
Dissertations & Theses
May 11, 2015 11:23 PM
Login to LibApps
About MSU Library
Site Index & Site Search