This is the "Home" page of the "Theses & Dissertations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theses & Dissertations   Tags: subject_guide  

Overview of how to find theses and dissertations written at MSU and beyond.
Last Updated: Sep 17, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/theses Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text from Proquest (1637-present)

Dissertations and Theses: Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses and includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637 wish may be ordered through InterLibrary Loan.

Why search for dissertations and theses on your topic? When you access this database you will find out who is doing current (and past) research in your topic at the doctoral level and where they are working -- including institutions around the United States and beyond. You'll have easy access to the extensive bibliographies that underpin dissertation and thesis research, enabling you to mine the research efforts of scholars working on topics at a comprehensive level.

Access Dissertations and Theses: Full Text online from any networked computer.  If you are working off the MSU campus, you will need to sign in using your NetID and password.

 

MSU Theses and Dissertations

MSU theses and dissertations are available in full text online from 1967 to the present through our MSU Electronic Theses & Dissertations collection on ScholarWorks, MSU's open access repository.

Older theses and dissertations are available in the regular stacks at the MSU Library. Prior to 2003, MSU Libraries recieved two copies of every thesis and dissertation, as well as some professional papers completed at MSU. One copy was placed in Archives and the other in the stacks. 

All theses, dissertations, and professional papers that the library has in print or online are listed in the library catalog.

To search for them, use the following subject headings and the department name:

Document Type Subject Heading Example
Dissertations and Theses MSU thesis--[name of degree] MSU thesis--Nursing
Professional Papers MSU paper--[name of degree] MSU paper--Electrical & Computer Engineering

Or, if the author's name is known, use "lastname firstname" in the basic search box, clicking on Begins with and then the Author button below the search box.

Catalog records for online MSU theses and dissertations will contain a link to their full text. Catalog records for theses, dissertations, and professional papers still in print (not yet digitized) will contain a call number (location number) for the print volume.  These are housed on the 2nd floor of Renne Library at the following general call numbers:

Document type Call number
Dissertations D378
Master's Theses N378
Professional Papers P378

The base call number is followed by a letter and series of numbers representing the author of the work.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip