Scholarly vs. Popular Characteristics
Scholarly
Journals
- Authors are experts/authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review process (experts in the discipline evaluate each author's work before any articles are published).
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.
- Articles are typically five or more
pages in length.
Popular
Magazines
- Authors are magazine staff members/regular columnists or free lance writers.
- Authors often mention sources, but rarely formally cite them in bibliographies.
- Individual issues contain numerous advertisements.
- There is no peer review process.
- Articles are meant to inform and entertain (thus they are also thought of as consumer publications because they are published for a wide audience).
- Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
- Language is geared to the general adult audience (no specialized knowledge of jargon needed).
- Articles are typically fairly short (one or two columns to one or a few pages).
Compiled by Mary Anne Hansen and Sheila Bonnand
Comments (0)
Scholarly vs. Popular Video
Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles
Start here to find scholarly articles. Results in many databases can be limited to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles.
- Academic Search CompleteA full-text and bibliographic database with coverage of the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more. It includes citations, abstracts, full text, and images.
- InfoTrac PowerSearchOur largest database, including the entire content of five other databases: InfoTrac General OneFile, Academic OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center, InfoTrac Custom Newspapers, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- MSU's DatabasesA list of all our databases, browse by title or by subject area.
- CatSearchSearch across many databases at once. Limit by results by type of publication and limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review.
Dissertations and Theses
- MSU Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETDs)Most Montana State University (MSU) Master's theses and Doctoral dissertations completed since 2003 are accessible from this database. Most are available in PDF format.
- Digital Dissertations from MSUDoctoral Dissertations only from MSU, 1996 - present.
- Dissertations and Theses: Full TextThe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses and includes over 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1637 - present. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Instruction Librarian |
|
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Instruction Librarian |
Panic Button!
Need help? Article unavailable? Brain melting? Ask a Librarian!
Not full-text online? Get your hands on it!
Request books, book chapters, journal articles, and other materials, regardless of whether they are available in the MSU Library, online, or in libraries around the world.
- Request It!Interlibrary Loan
Document Delivery
Book Retrieval
Links to Library Services
The main stuff to help you get it done.

Loading...
