Last Updated: Aug 31, 2011
Request books, book chapters, journal articles, and other materials, regardless of whether they are available in the MSU Library, online, or in libraries around the world.
The main stuff to help you get it done.
- You never know what you'll find, so be open to the possibilities.
- Research is like cooking - you often have a make a huge mess to get something good at the end.
- Don't be afraid to find all the "wrong" ways first.
- You're trying to find a way in to the conversation, so if you can find one place to start from, you can go from there.
- Databases are like cars: if you can drive one car, you can pretty much drive any car. Most all databases share the same basic functions.
- Keep a research log so you don't redo things you've already tried.
- Think about other words to describe what you're looking for - if something is "red," try "magenta" or "brick."
- Use Subjects in databases to find similar articles.
- ILL can be a life-saver, but it isn't instant, so build in extra time in your research schedule.
- Your Librarians are here for you.
- Gale Literary Databases
Includes full text access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Provides detailed information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with selected critical reactions to their works.
- Gale Biography In Context
Formerly Biography Resource Center, Gale Biography In Context contains 600,000+ biographies, 170+ award-winning Gale reference titles, and 50,000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events. Includes integrated reference material, periodical information, and multimedia content.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Over 13.6 million biographical sketches. It indexes current reference sources, as well as the many retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Many of the sources are available in the MSU Library reference or general collection.
WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing records for more than 40 million items held by hundreds of libraries around the country and some international libraries. Each record contains library holdings.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), indexes principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
- Dissertations and Theses: Full Text
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses and includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Contains the full text of more than 1,000 scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized,starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. However, it does not include the most recent few years of issues. This is a rolling date range which varies by journal.
- Project MUSE
Full-text journals in the humanities and social sciences, heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by respected scholars. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many university presses and scholarly societies. Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.
Numerous citations and full text scholarly materials that the MSU Libraries owns or provides access to are currently available in CatSearch. It searches most, but not all of our resources.
- Academic Search Complete
A full-text and bibliographic database with coverage of the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
- InfoTrac PowerSearch
Our largest database, it includes the full text of journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, and opinions.
- Religious & Theological Abstracts
Religious & Theological Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting database covering scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology.
Need help? Article unavailable? Brain melting? Ask a Librarian!