Books for Nursing
These books are found in the MSU Reference Collection.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: PE1478 .P82 2010 (Reference)
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors
Call Number: R119.A533 2007 (Reference)
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Call Number: R121.D73 2003 (Reference)
Stedman's Medical Eponyms
Call Number: R121.F67 2005 (Reference)
Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health
Call Number: R121.M65 2003 (Reference)
The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine
Call Number: R121.O884 2001 (Reference)
Medicine, Literature & Eponyms :An Encyclopedia of Medical Eponyms Derived from Literary Characters
Call Number: R121.R62 1989 (Reference)
The Dictionary of Modern Medicine
Call Number: R121.S429 1992 (Reference)
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Call Number: R121.S8 2006 (28th) (Reference)
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Call Number: R121.T18 2005 (Reference)
Dorland's Medical Speller
Call Number: R123.D67 2009 (Reference)
Common Abbreviations in Clinical Medicine
Call Number: R123.H23 1988 (Reference)
Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations
Call Number: R123.J24 1993 (Reference)
The Medical & Health Sciences Word Book
Call Number: R123.M38 1992 (Reference)
Stedman's Abbrev: Abbreviations, Acronyms & Symbols
Call Number: R123.S69 2003 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior
Call Number: R726.5.E53 2004 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of Health Psychology
Call Number: R726.7.E53 2004 (Reference)
Alternative Medicine: The Definitive Guide
Call Number: R733.A47 1993 (Reference)
The Duke Encyclopedia of New Medicine: Conventional and Alternative Medicine for All Ages
Call Number: R733.D85 2006 (Reference)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Call Number: R733.G34 2001 (Reference) 4 vols.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Body-Mind Disciplines
Call Number: R733.I46 1999 (Reference)
Comments (0)
Articles (Indexes/Databases)
Here are some tools to find nursing and nursing-related articles in the popular and professional literature.
- CINAHL Access nursing and allied health literature
- Cochrane Library Evidence-based medical reviews
- Medline (on Web of Science) Professional health sciences journal articles. Includes Check MSU Availability.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center Provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.
- APA Manual of StyleExamples of APA formatting of print and online resources for creating a list of references
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments Provides bibliographic access and descriptions of tests, manuals, rating scales and other instruments used to assess health and behavior.
- Health Reference Center Academic Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook Includes the full text of the 9th edition (1985) through the most recent Mental Measurements Yearbook.
- Medline via FirstSearch Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
- PubMed.gov PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
- SPORTDiscus Sports medicine, psychology, history, and sociology; physical fitness, training, recreation
- Web of Science Also with coverage of nursing, medical, and related fields.
- AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online Featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition.
- ArticleFirst Index of articles from the contents pages of journals.
- Biological Abstracts Extensive biosciences coverage of the journal literature.
- ScienceDirect Includes Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Environmental Science, Microbiology & Immunology, Neurosciences, Pharmacology & Toxicology, and Social Sciences.
- Oxford English Dictionary Definitions, etymology, and usage of English-language words
- Dissertation Abstracts Dissertation and thesis abstracts related to nursing and medicine
Web Resources
Web sites and pages providing resources for nursing.
- Popline
- CINAHL TutorialFrom the University of Florida Health Science Center Libraries, Gainsville, FL
- MERLOT Health SciencesPeer-reviewed learning materials
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Your online source for credible health information
- Anatomy of the Human Body From classic Gray's Anatomy of 1918.
- healthfinder.gov From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
- Aetna InteliHealth Harvard Medical School content partner
- The Merck Manuals Trusted source for medical information and free manuals online
- Drug Information Portal Quick access to quality drug information
- A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia Through MedlinePlus
- Medical Matrix Ranked, peer-reviewed, annotated, updated clinical, medicine resources
- National Library of Medicine The World's Largest Medical Library
- Neurosciences on the Internet Best neuroscience resources on the Web and original neuroscience content
- NOAH Health Topics Provides access to high quality full-text consumer health information in English and Spanish
- Dictionary.com Large, free Web dictionary
- Thesaurus.com Largest free Web Thesaurus
- American Nurses Association Full-service professional organization
- National Guideline Clearinghouse Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents
- Drug DigestNoncommercial, evidence-based, consumer health and drug information site
Subject Guide |
Contact Info The Libraries Montana State University P.O. Box 173320 Bozeman, MT 59717-3320 Phone: 406-994-1873 FAX: 406-994-2851 Email: richw@montana.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Link suggestions?
Please suggest any other links that you find valuable for possible inclusion on this resource page.

Submit
Loading...
