Free Download of the Week
Loading...
Find Books about Music
Find Books with the Library Catalog
For books about composers, search composer’s name as Subject
Reference Books
All in Reference, 1st floor
CatSearch: Search Faster - Search Smarter
Use CatSearch to search journal articles, newspapers, books, ebooks, dissertations, and other resources.
Top Music Databases
From our Music Databases page.
- Music OnlineCombination of several online music audio databases and the Classical Scores Library. Listen to music and view scores as well. Includes the Classical Music Library, American Song (including African American Song), and later in Fall of 2009, Smithsonian Global Sound.
- Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online is the expansion of the database formerly known as Grove Music and provides encyclopedic coverage of music including definitions of music-related terms, in-depth articles, and extensive bibliographies.
Find Music & Scores
Four Options!
1. CatSearch (eventually for all)
- Search by Composer or work name
- Under "Content Type" in left margin, choose Music Score
2. Library Catalog (for print scores in the library)
- Advanced Search
- Change Limit at Bottom of page: Type: Music Scores
- Search by Composer Last Name in author box
3. Classical Scores Library (for online scores that can be printed)
- Look under Find, then Articles (Indexes/Databases)
- Select Music grouping
- Choose Classical Scores Library
4. WorldCat: If nothing is available in any of the above, check in WorldCat that you can request through interlibrary loan. In WorldCat use the Musical Scores limit.
Find Recordings & Audio
Four Options!
1. CatSearch (eventually for all)
- Search by Composer or work name
- Under "Content Type" in left margin, choose Audio Recording
2. Find CDs in the Library Catalog (for CDs in the library)
- Under Find Books (Library Catalog), and then Advanced Search
- Change Limit at Bottom of page: Type: CD Audio
- Search by Composer Last Name in author box
3. Find Recordings in Music Online (for online streaming audio)
- Look under Find, then Articles (Indexes/Databases)
- Select Music grouping
- Choose Music Online
4. WorldCat: If no recordings are available in any of these three, check for a CD in WorldCat that you can request through interlibrary loan. In WorldCat use the Sound Recordings limit.
More Music Databases
Loading...
Public Domain Music
- International Music Score Library ProjectIncludes more than 72,000 public domain scores (and 1,000+ recordings) and 4,000+ composers, both famous and not-so-much.
- Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885From the Library of Congress: over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870-1885. Popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
- Variations Prototype: Online Musical ScoresDemonstration project with online, public-domain scores for opera, orchestral, choral, song, chamber, and piano music. Online viewing works well, but there is no ability to print the full score.
- Neue Mozart-AusgabeOnline collected works of Mozart. Personal use only permitted.
- FreeSheetMusic.net
- 8notes
- Music Treasures Consortium (Manuscripts)Search major collections of music manuscripts from the Library of Congress, the British Library, Harvard,
Juilliard, Morgan Library, and the New York Public Library. - Other Public Domain Links
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Citation Tools
Help for creating formatted bibliographies and quick citations.
- EasyBibFree for MLA only. Quick look-ups and citations
- EndNote WebFree for MSU users. Powerful, but complex to learn.






Loading...
