Free Download of the Week
Loading...
Find Books about Music
Find Books with the Library Catalog
For books about composers, search composer’s name as Subject
Reference Books
All in Reference, 1st floor
Listening Lists
These lists are not comprehensive but have many of the 5th symphonies and additional listening works for your projects.
- 5th SymphoniesLinks to some of the 5th Symphonies played in class
- Additional/Recommended ListeningListen to some of the works on this list for semester project topic ideas. See also the more complete list of works on the syllabus. If a work is not on this list, we may have it on CD in the library. This list is not yet complete but should be by 1/26
CatSearch: Search Faster - Search Smarter
Use CatSearch to search journal articles, newspapers, books, ebooks, dissertations, and other resources.
Top Music Databases
From our Music Databases page.
- Music OnlineCombination of several online music audio databases and the Classical Scores Library. Listen to music and view scores as well. Includes the Classical Music Library, American Song (including African American Song), and later in Fall of 2009, Smithsonian Global Sound.
- Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online is the expansion of the database formerly known as Grove Music and provides encyclopedic coverage of music including definitions of music-related terms, in-depth articles, and extensive bibliographies.
Find Recordings & Audio
Four Options!
1. CatSearch (eventually for all)
- Search by Composer or work name
- Under "Content Type" in left margin, choose Audio Recording
2. Find CDs in the Library Catalog (for CDs in the library)
- Under Find Books (Library Catalog), and then Advanced Search
- Change Limit at Bottom of page: Type: CD Audio
- Search by Composer Last Name in author box
3. Find Recordings in Music Online (for online streaming audio)
- Look under Find, then Articles (Indexes/Databases)
- Select Music grouping
- Choose Music Online
4. WorldCat: If no recordings are available in any of these three, check for a CD in WorldCat that you can request through interlibrary loan. In WorldCat use the Sound Recordings limit.
More Music Databases
Loading...
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Citation Tools
Help for creating formatted bibliographies and quick citations.
- EasyBibFree for MLA only. Quick look-ups and citations
- EndNote WebFree for MSU users. Powerful, but complex to learn.
- MendeleyFree. Download client. Can also store PDFs.





Loading...
