Library resources for American military history
Last Updated: Apr 1, 2014
Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? Stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) to ask or use the other options below.
Search the library catalog for other book resources.
American Military History
Call Number: D 114.19:M 59/3/V.1/2009
This latest edition of an official U.S. Government military history classic provides an authoritative historical survey of the organization and accomplishments of the United States Army.
The U.S. Army and Irregular Warfare, 1775-2007: Selected papers from the 2007 Conference of Army Historians
Call Number: D 114.2:AR 5
Examines irregular warfare in a wide and diverse range of circumstances and eras.
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: library of military history
Call Number: E208.E63 2006
New edition of the respected 1966 encyclopedia on the military aspects of the American Revolution
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological literature including books, conference proceedings, & dissertations
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Broad coverage of social science journals and tracks citations
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal justice journal articles
- Academic Search Premier
Access sociology-related popular and academic articles
- InfoTrac PowerSearch
MSU's largest multidisciplinary collection with full text articles & books
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text resource for news, business, health, biographical, and legal topics
- Web of Science Core Collection
Broad coverage of the journals in the sciences and social sciences
- America: History and Life
A bibliographic database with citations and abstracts covering the fields of U.S. and Canadian history, area studies, and current affairs literature.
- Hstorical Abstracts
A bibliographic database with citations and abstracts covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Contains the full text of more than 1,000 scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized,starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. However, it does not include the most recent few years of issues. This is a rolling date range which varies by journal.
- The WWW Virtual Library: Social & Behavioural Sciences
Departments, Institutions, to Databases, Archives, and Related Fields
- Smithsonian Encyclopedia: Military History
General US military history, Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, Cold War, Vietnam War, military aviation
- Military History
Many links for military history related materials. Several links may be dead.
- United States Military Academy History Department
Maps from Ancient Warfare to the American Civil War to Iraq
Montana State University
P.O. Box 173320
Bozeman, MT 59717-3320
Email: firstname.lastname@example.orgSend Email
, Military Science
, Criminal Justice
, English as a Second Language
, Government Documents
, Cell Biology and Neuroscience
Please suggest any other links that you find valuable for possible inclusion on this resources page.