This is the "Home" page of the "LS 101: Ways of Knowing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LS 101: Ways of Knowing   Tags: course_guide, liberal_studies  

Liberal Studies 101 - Ways of Knowing
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/ls101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Your librarians

   

          Sheila Bonnand
    sbonnand@montana.edu
            406-994-4130


 

    Mary Anne Hansen
  mhansen@montana.edu
         406-994-3162

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Finding journal articles

These are some suggested databases that will be helpful for your project. To see all of the library's databases, go to http://www.lib.montana.edu/resources/.

Finding newspaper articles

Peer-reviewed?

What is peer review? Journals typically have other experts in the field review articles prior to publication. In a blind peer-review, reviewers know the author's name.  In a double-blind peer-review, neither the author(s) nor the reviewers know the identities of the others. To find the level of peer-review of a particular journal, one usually needs to refer to the editorial statement of that journal.

To find peer-reviewed or referred journal articles, use limits in the databases, check the journal list in our Journals by Title list, or use the Ulrich's Web database to verify if a journal is peer-reviewed.

Finding full text

The full text of many articles is available through our databases.  If it is not, here are your other options for getting the full text.

Use the  link within a database.  If the article is in a journal to which we subscribe, you will either get linked right to that article (electronic access) or be linked into the library catalog to get a call number so you can find the journal in the library (print access).  If we don't subscribe to the journal, you will find a link to get in to Request It! - make a request and we will get a copy from another library for you.

If you have a citation for which you are trying to find full text, use the Journals by Title link to look for the journal by title.  The JournaList is a list of all our periodicals holdings, both electronic and print.  If we subscribe, the JournaList is a quick way to find that out.  Again, if we do have the journal, you will be linked to electronic access or to the catalog to get a call number.  The Journals & Magazines link can be found under FIND on the library's home page.

If the library does not subscribe to a journal, you can request your article through Request It! and we will get a copy for you from another library.  You can log in directly to Request It! using the same username and password you use for D2L (Banner number or Net/ID and associated password).  Again, you can also get  to Request It! under REQUEST on the library's home page. You can also request that a print article or book chapter be scanned for you or you can ask that a book be held for you at the circulation desk for pick up.

 

Chat with the Library

Can't wait? Leave an email address, and we'll get back in touch with you.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip