Library Services
Brainstorming search terms
Experiment with your search terms, i.e., try searching synonyms or alternative ways to express a concept. You also might include the terms "in vitro" and/or "animal model" with terms specific to your research. Also, rather than entering your all of your search terms in one search box as a statement or question, parse out the pieces of your research question into two or more search boxes and connect with an appropriate Boolean operator: AND, OR, NOT (sometimes AND NOT used instead of just NOT) as appropriate.
Sample searches:
1) in vitro AND animal model and (heart OR cardiac OR cardiovascular)
2) animal model AND eating disorder*AND NOT rats (if you're seeking studies on other animals, but not rats)
3) animal model AND stress AND long term memory
4) animal alternatives testing AND rats AND "transient global ischemia"
Once you find relevant citations to articles, look at the search terms/subject headings assigned to those articles and try subsequent searches with various combinations of relevant search terms.
Use the HELP feature in any database if you're wondering if you're searching it effectively!
Register
Use EndNoteWeb to organize the citations that you gather in your research. Create a free account and log in from MSU campus at least once a year to maintain access.
- Register for an EndNote Web Account NOTE! Password must be 8+ characters, contain at least 1 digit and at least one of the following special character: !@#$%^*()~`{}[]|\
- More about EndNote and EndNoteWebLearn more about using EndNote and EndNoteWeb for organizing your citations.
Databases for conducting lit reviews
- Web of Knowledge (includes WOS, Medline, Biological Abs & Zoological Record)WOK allows you to search multiple relevant databases at one time.
- Sciverse - Search full text of Materials and Methods sectionsUse to find relevant methods by searching only in the Materials and Methods section of Elsevier full text articles.
- PubMEDOpen access version of MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE. When searching PubMed off campus, you may need to search the library's JOURNALS BY TITLE database to see if the library subscribes to the articles you need.
- PsycInfoPsycInfo provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
- Dissertations & ThesesExplore dissertations & theses done at MSU and other institutions.
- CAB DirectInternational coverage of agriculture, food, and nutrition.
- AgricolaUSDA publications, agriculture, and nutrition.
- LexisNexis database- for law-related informationUse this database to look up articles on legal issues pertaining to animal research, etc.
- AltBib: alternatives to Animal Testing (Nat'l Lib of Medicine)Resources on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing.
- NTISNTIS a free bibliographic database compiled by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). It is a distinguished resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and some international governments.
- ToxNetTOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Other Relevant Specialized Databases & more!See Mount Sinai Library's extensive list of potentially relevant databases to search in order to do an exhaustive search of your topic. Many are open web sources and some are databases listed above.
- MSU Library's list of other Research DatabasesFind other potential databases for your lit review: BioOne Indexes & Abstracts, Fish & Fisheries Worldwide, Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, and many more.
WWW resources
- AltWeb global clearinghouse for info on alternatives to animal testing
- American Association for Laboratory Animal Science
- Association for Assessment & Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International
- Institute for Animal Laboratory Research (ILAR - open access)
- Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)
- NIH HHS - Animals in Research
- USDA guide on alternatives literature searching
- USDA Literature Searching & Databases
Library Liaison |
|
Contact Info Renne Library, Rm 117D Montana State University PO Box 173320 Bozeman, MT 59717-3320 406.994.3162, voice 406.994.2851, fax mhansen@montana.edu Send Email |
APA resources
Need help to cite sources in APA style?
AMA Citation Style
- AMA Reference Citation Format from the NY Medical College
- AMA manual of style : a guide for authors and editorsFind a copy of this manual at the REFERENCE DESK, an online copy linked above (use same login as D2L) and a copy on the 4th floor at this call number: R119.A533 2007
Loading...
