Not full-text online? Get your hands on it!
Request books, book chapters, journal articles, and other materials, regardless of whether they are available in the MSU Library, online, or in libraries around the world.
- Request It!Interlibrary Loan
Document Delivery
Book Retrieval
Links to Library Services
The main stuff to help you get it done.
Research Tips
- You never know what you'll find, so be open to the possibilities.
- Research is like cooking - you often have a make a huge mess to get something good at the end.
- Don't be afraid to find all the "wrong" ways first.
- You're trying to find a way in to the conversation, so if you can find one place to start from, you can go from there.
- Databases are like cars: if you can drive one car, you can pretty much drive any car. Most all databases share the same basic functions.
- Keep a research log so you don't redo things you've already tried.
- Think about other words to describe what you're looking for - if something is "red," try "magenta" or "brick."
- Use Subjects in databases to find similar articles.
- Focus on the time period or aspect you need; don't get distracted by everything else.
- To figure out how to search for authors (if firstname lastname or lastname firstname matters), search for somebody you know you'll find and see what works.
- ILL can be a life-saver, but it isn't instant, so build in extra time in your research schedule.
- Your Librarians are here for you.
Author Information
Identify authors and find biographical information.
- Gale Literary DatabasesFull-text access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (CLC Select), and the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB).
- Biography In Context Database(Formerly Biography Resource Center.) Contains biographies on over 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Wikipedia BiographyThe Biography Portal on Wikipedia.
- Postcolonial and Postimperial AuthorsList of authors by continent/country.
- Postcolonial Studies at EmoryAuthors, terms, and external links from Emory University.
- The Victorian Novel - Google BooksBy Dr. Louis James. Short chapter on colonial novels.
Country Information
Basic country histories and facts - focus on the time period you need.
- Wikipedia History by CountryThe History by Country Category on Wikipedia.
- Encyclopaedia BritannicaIn the search box type:
history {your country} - Enchantment of the World titles from Bozeman Public LibraryIn the search box, type:
enchantment world and {your country}
Great for not-too-complex history and facts. You will need a Bozeman Public Library card for checkout - all students qualify, just bring along your CatCard.
Novel Information
- WorldCat DatabaseMore than 40 million records for fiction and non-fiction books, journal and newspaper titles, audio, video, and more.
{topic} and fiction to find *novels*
{topic} and literature to find *non-fiction* - GoodreadsImagine it as a large library that you can wander through and see everyone's bookshelves, their reviews, and their ratings. You can also post your own reviews and catalog what you have read, are currently reading, and plan to read in the future. Can also link to facebook.
- LibraryThingCatalog your books from Amazon, the Library of Congress and 690 other world libraries. Import from anywhere. Find people with eerily similar tastes. Find new books to read. Tag and categorize groups.
- Amazon
- Google Books
- What Do I Read Next? DatabaseIncludes over 130,600 recommended titles...search by genre, subject, author, title, series, and more.
- Books & Authors Database(Um, may not work.)
Allow users to broaden and narrow their searches according to author, title, series, awards and other criteria. An "if you like" search connects readers to themes and genres that may have otherwise gone unnoticed.
History and Literature Databases
Databases from Renne Library to help you find popular and scholarly history and literature articles.
Here's an example of the fancy searching:
ford* and (theatre or stage) not "john wilkes booth"
The qoutations make the database search john wilkes booth as a phrase and not just the individual words.
Another example could be:
coloni?ation and (ghana or "gold coast")
This will search for colonization or colonisation and ghana or "gold coast" as a phrase.
Remember to check the Help section in each database to find out how that database uses the fancy stuff. What works in one may not work in another. You'll be looking for words like Truncation, Wildcards, Parentheses, and logical or Boolean operators.
- MLA International BibliographyCovers literature, modern languages, linguistics, and folklore. It includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings.
- Historical AbstractsCitations and abstracts covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
- WorldCatMore than 40 million records for fiction and non-fiction books, journal and newspaper titles, audio, video, and more.
- Academic Search CompleteCoverage of the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
- InfoTrac PowerSearchOur largest database, including the entire content of five other databases: InfoTrac General OneFile, Academic OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center, InfoTrac Custom Newspapers, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
The Times of London
Published in the United Kingdom since 1785. One source to find contemporaneous information on your topics. MSU owns a near-complete run of the newspaper in microfilm and the index in paper.
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: English Literature, History, Composition, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Women's & Gender Studies, Liberal Studies, American Studies Video Interview: |
Panic Button!
Need help? Article unavailable? Brain melting? Ask a Librarian!
Whimsy
Need new ideas? Serendipity and stress relief here!
- GoogleFeel lucky!
- Randomwebsite.comSometimes you just need a new perspective.
- Literary Theory and Schools of Criticism (Purdue OWL)What others are saying.
- Cats in SinksWhat is Cats in Sinks? It's obvious. It's about cats. And kittens. Who like sinks. And basins. The best work-safe stress reliever ever, imho.
- I Has a HotdogDon't want to leave out the puppies! Be sure to check out the other Cheezburger Network members.

Loading...
