Library Services
Professional Resources for Historians
- Montana Historical Society Located in Helena, MT -- Phone: (406) 444-2694; Email: mhslibrary@mt.gov
- MSU Dept of History and PhilosophyDiscover study options, courses, resources, faculty, and events.
- MSU Special Collections Located on the 2nd floor of the MSU Library in Bozeman; open M-F 8 AM - 5 PM
- American Historical Association Access resources for the historical profession, such as conference calendars, directories, links to Web resources, etc.
Online Catalogs
- English Short Title Catalogue (1473-1800) Identify and locate obscure, rare, or old British & North American books
- Handbook of Latin American Studies: HLAS Online Identify citations and annotations for scholarly works on Latin America
- Library of Congress Search the LoC catalogs, view digital resources, access research guides.
Primary Sources Online
- A Chronology of US Historical Documents Provides hundreds of important documents related to American History from Pre-Colonial times to the present.
- AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History Links to full-text world documents from 800-2009, arranged chronologically.
- America's Historical Documents Locate primary documents in US history, explore teaching resources
- American Memory Locate primary resources in US history and cultural life.
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesA dataset that covers every day-to-day change in the size, shape, location, name, organization, and attachment of each U.S. county and state from the creation of the first county in 1634 through 2000. Produced by the Newberry Library.
- Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Find images of Native Americans from the northern plains.
- James Willard Schultz Photographs See historic photographs of Native American life in Montana.
- Making of America A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- Montana Memory Project Access primary documents and images for the study of Montana history.
- MSU Special Collections For primary sources in Montana subjects such as agriculture and ranching, architecture, history, Native Americans, MSU history, prominent citizens, trout and salmonids, Burton K. Wheeler, Yellowstone National Park and the Yellowstone ecosystem.
- National Portrait Gallery (US)A searchable site that contains photographs, portraits, and biographical information on thousands of prominent Americans.
- Repositories of Primary Resources Provides easy access to special collections around the world
- Smithsonian Source: Resources for Teaching American History Locate primary documents & artifacts in US history, explore teaching resources.
- Talking HistoryAudio files of the weekly radio program ”Talking History,” a co-production of the History Department of the University at Albany – SUNY, the Department of History of Creighton University (Omaha, Nebraska), and WRPI-FM, Troy.
- University of Montana Mansfield Library Digital Collections Access primary documents and images for the study of Montana history.
- US Historical Census BrowserData presented here describe the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1970.
- World Digital Library Access digitized primary materials from many eras and countries
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: English Literature, History, Composition, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Women's & Gender Studies, Liberal Studies, American Studies Video Interview: |
Ask a Librarian
Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? If I'm not available, stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) or use the other options below.

Loading...
