The world's largest society dedicated to understanding science, technology, medicine, and their interactions with society in historical context. See the Teaching and Research category to access on-line resources.
An interdisciplinary organization concerned not only with the history of technological devices and processes but also with technology in history. See their Resources tab for links to useful online resources.
Founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the AHA provides leadership for the profession, protects academic freedom, develops professional standards, aids in the pursuit and publication of scholarship, and supplies various services to sustain and enhance the work of its members.
One of the oldest institutions of its kind west of the Mississippi River. Contact for information about Montana's Museum, the Montana Historical Society Press, Montana The Magazine of Western History, the Montana State Historic Preservation Office, and the MHS Research Center.
The Merrill G. Burlingame Special Collections of the Montana State University Library is the location for finding comprehensive information on subjects such as Montana agriculture and ranching, history, Native Americans, Yellowstone, and other Montana-focused topics.
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items * published between 1473 and 1800 * mainly, but not exclusively, in English * published mainly in the British Isles and North America * from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library's mission is to make its resources available and useful to the Congress and the American people and to sustain and preserve a universal collection of knowledge and creativity for future generations. You can search the catalog of holdings online, view digital images, listen to audio files, research copyright, obtain assistance, etc.
A librarian's choice of the best of the Web in specific subject areas, this resource provides an alphabetical list of links primary sources, associations, archives, databases, and other resources of interest to historians.
designed for high school and college teachers of U.S. History survey courses, this site serves as a gateway to Web resources and offers unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and threaded discussions on teaching U.S. history. From the American Social History Project/Center for History and the New Media.
Constructed by Alan Liu at the University of California – Santa Barbara, this site provides links to World History resources, academic departments, conferences, journals, discussion lists, and newsgroups.
AMDOCS is maintained by George Laughead, manager
WWW-VL: United States History, and Kansas History, and by Dr. Lynn H. Nelson, original author, WWW-VL: History,
and the History Gateway at Kansas, established in 1993.
The National Archives (NARA) preserves and gives access to the records of the Federal Government. This online database provides a sample of these records, from the country's most celebrated milestones to little-known surprises. Digital images of documents are available for download in PDF format. Each document is accompanied by explanatory text, placing it into historical and political context.
American Memory is produced by the Library of Congress and provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning. It comprises more than 9 million items and is organized into over 100 thematic collections.
A dataset that covers every day-to-day change in the size, shape, location, name, organization, and attachment of each U.S. county and state from the creation of the first county in 1634 through 2000. Produced by the Newberry Library.
A searchable online photograph database containing images digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses ( Bozeman, Billings, and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana. The digital collection was created in consultation with Native Americans, educators, librarians, and historians. The overall organization of the database is by tribe, including: Crow, Cheyenne, Blackfeet, Salish (Flathead), Kutenai, Chippewa-Cree, Gros Ventres (Atsina), and Assiniboine. The collection consists primarily of images, but includes some text to give context. Most of the images are photographs, but there are also stereographs, ledger drawings, and other sketches.
The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology, and contains approximately 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
The "Montana Memory Project" is a collection of digital collections and items relating to Montana's cultural heritage. In part, these collections and items will document the Montana experience. Many of these items are digitized copies of historic material, some items are contemporary. All serve as a resource for education, business, pleasure, and lifelong learning. Many Montana libraries, museums, archives, and cultural institutions have added and are in the process of adding materials to this collection. Over time, contents may include digital newspapers, maps, copies of photographs, rare books, historic documents, diaries, oral histories, audio and video clips, paintings, illustrations, art, etc.
For primary sources in Montana subjects such as agriculture and ranching, architecture, history, Native Americans, MSU history, prominent citizens, trout and salmonids, Burton K. Wheeler, Yellowstone National Park and the Yellowstone ecosystem.
The Merrill G. Burlingame Special Collections of the Montana State University Libraries houses more than 34,000 volumes and 1200 linear feet of manuscript materials. In addition there are microforms, sound recordings, video recordings, and maps pertaining to all of the above subject areas. Materials are collected in all formats, including original papers and documents, publications, maps, photographs, and videotapes. A record of MSU Libraries' holdings are available via MSU's online catalog, WLN, and the World Wide Web.
This website is a resource for teaching American history in grades 5 through 12. It includes images of artifacts and documents organized by historical theme; videos designed to introduce students of all ages to artifact analysis; teacher-created lesson plans and study questions.
Audio files of the weekly radio program ”Talking History,” a co-production of the History Department of the University at Albany – SUNY, the Department of History of Creighton University (Omaha, Nebraska), and WRPI-FM, Troy.
Current Digital Collections at this site include: * American Indian Ledger Art * Northwest Digital Archives * Early Montana Histories o Progressive Men of Montana o Leeson's History of Montana * Archives Photo Collection * Legacy Forest Service Collection * Early Char-Koosta News
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The principal objectives of the WDL are to: * Promote international and intercultural understanding; * Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet; * Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences; * Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries. Established in 2005, the WDL is created and maintained by partners around the world, primarily libraries, archives, or other institutions that have collections of cultural content that they contribute to the WDL.