This is the "Home" page of the "Genealogy Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genealogy Resources   Tags: subject_guide  

Library resources and web sites useful for genealogical research
Last Updated: Apr 8, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/genealogy Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Gallatin County Resources

Bozeman Public Library
220 W. Lamme St.
Bozeman, MT 59715
406-582-2400

Bozeman Stake Family History Center
2915 Colter Ave.
Bozeman, MT 59715-6142
at S. Third & Henderson
406-586-3880, x15 for appt. 
Tues.-Thur. 10 - 4 & 6 - 9

Gallatin County Historical Society
317 W. Main St.
Bozeman, MT 59725
406-522-8123

 

Encyclopedias

Genealogist's Encylopedia
Call Number: Ref CS9.P48

 

Print Resources

Print Resources

The library collects materials directed towards courses taught and research done at Montana State University. At times this overlaps with genealogy research and publications. Search the online library catalog by entering a topic such as "genealogy" and choose the "Subject" search.

The local newspapers in Renne Library are listed in this guide, but no court, marriage, birth or death records are held in the library. The census sources are also listed in this guide. Most of the library materials listed below are in the Reference (Ref) area or in Special Collections (Special) on 2nd Floor. A few are found in the open stacks and noted as such.

In the Merrill G. Burlingame Special Collections, a limited number of manuscript collections are available, mainly pertaining to Montana agriculture families, and accessible through the online catalog. Photographs form parts of these collections, and a separate photograph collection, which includes an extremely limited number of Montana individuals, is available in Special Collections.

 

Biographical Sources and More

A Bibliography of American County Histories
Call Number: Ref E180.F55 1985

Bibliography of Montana Local Histories
Call Number: Ref F731.B53 1977
Also in stacks and Special Collections: Z1305.B54

Black Genesis
Call Number: Ref CS21.R57

Constitution, members and officers
Call Number: Ref F726.S6 v.1
also in Special Collections

Guide to Manuscripts in Montana Repositories
Call Number: Ref CD3340.C635 1973

Guide to Records in the National Archives
Call Number: Ref Documents AE 1.108:G 94/v.1-3

Harvard Guide to American History
Call Number: Ref E178.F86 1974 v.1
Also in stacks

Librarian's Guide to Public Records
Call Number: Ref CD3029.L52 1998

Montana's Genealogical and Local History Records (1981)
Call Number: Ref F730.R53 1981
Also in Special Collections: Z1305.R52

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (1959-present)
Call Number: Basement Z6620.U5N3 1959-1993

Native American Genealogical Sourcebook
Call Number: Ref E98.G44N37 1995

A Preliminary Index to Biographies in Montana
Call Number: F730.P73 1983
Also in Special Collections

History of Montana (Burlingame & Toole)
Call Number: Ref F731.B95 v.1-3
Also in stacks and Special Collections

Encyclopedia of Northwest Biography
Not at MSU libraries

Illustrated History of the Yellowstone Valley
Call Number: Special Collections F737.Y4I29 1907

History of Montana (Leeson)
Call Number: Ref F731.L48
Also in Special Collections

An illustrated history of the state of Montana (Miller)
Call Number: F731.M64 1894
Also in Special Collections

A newspaper reference work: men of affairs and representative institutions of the state of Montana
Call Number: Oversize in Special Collections F730.B87 1914 Oversize

Progressive Men of Montana
Call Number: F730.P7 Part 1-3
Also in Reference and Special Collections

Montana, the land and the people (Raymer)
Call Number: F731.R26 v.1-3
Also in Special Collections

History of Montana
Call Number: F731.S2 v.1-3
Also in Special Collections

Montana, Its Story & Biography
Call Number: F731.S875 v.1-3
Also in Special Collections

 

United States Census

The census rolls (containing actual names and other census schedule information) are released after 72 years, so for Montana 1870-1880, 1900-1930 are available in Special Collections. Most of the original 1890 census rolls burned, so are not available anywhere.

The index listed below gives the details of what parts of the 1890 rolls are available. Census population statistics for U.S. and Montana are listed in MSU's online catalog; do a subject search under United State-Census or Montana-Census.

  • Federal Population Censuses 1790-1890 – GS 4.2:P 81/2/790-890-5 in Ref documents
  • Federal Population Census – GS 4.2:P 81/2/900 1900 in Ref documents
  • Federal Population Census – GS 4.2:P 81/2/910 1910 in Ref documents

With these indexes, you can find the appropriate roll for the state, county, and name that you want. Soundex is the card index system by which the surnames from the census schedules are indexed, and it is explained in the appendix of these books. For U.S. Census Information online, see Cyndi's U.S. Census page or CensusFinder for links to census information as early as 1790.

1930 Census, Montana (15th)
Call Number: Special Collections Mfilm 738

1920 Census, Montana (14th)
Call Number: Special Collections Mfilm 626

1910 Census, Montana (13th)
Call Number: Special Collections Mfilm577

1900 Census, Montana (12th)
Call Number: Special Collections Mfilm 563

1880 Census, Montana (10th)
Call Number: Special Collections Mfilm 261

1880 Census: Montana Territorial Census Index
Call Number: Special Collections HA201 1880.B1 Index

1870 Census, Montana (9th)
Call Number: Special Collections Mfilm 260

1870 Census: Montana Territorial Census Index
Call Number: Special Collections HA201 1870.B1 Index

 

Periodicals

Index to Vital Statistics from Bozeman, MT Newspapers, 1870-1910
Call Number: Special Collections Microfilm 586

MONTANA, The Magazine of Western History: comprehensive index, 1951-1990
Call Number: Ref F726.M742 1993 [1951-1990 index]
Also in Special Collections


Bozeman Courier 1871-1954
Call Number: Special Collections Mfilm N43 *S13,1871-1954

Bozeman Daily Chronicle 1911-present
Call Number: Micro/AV Mfilm N11a *D4,1911-

Bozeman Weekly Chronicle
Call Number: Special Collections Mfilm N11 *F7,1883-D1919Scattered

Gallatin County Republican 1900-1905
Call Number: Special Collections Mfilm N63 *Sept4,1900-Jy4,1905

Gallatin County Tribune 1954-1973
Call Number: Special Collections Newspaper *Aug11,1954-1973Incomple

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip