Library & other resources for French history and culture
Last Updated: Jan 13, 2012
CatSearch 270K+ French language books and ebooks, some are searched full text.
CatSearch 490K+ French language scholarly journal articles. Includes scientific articles.
Watch that citation tools do not lose diacritics!
Look for French as a language limit, or just use French search terms. Search by subject using both French and English subject words.
More than 1.6 million books, manuscripts, periodicals, and maps from the Bibliothèque nationale de France
2,000+ French texts from the 13th to 20th century: classics, nonfiction prose, and technical writing.
Find books to request via interlibrary loan.
CatSearch includes books & ebooks in the MSU Libraries collections and some free ebooks. Limit results to books by choosing "Books / eBooks" in the left hand "Content Type" column or use the box to the left
- Google Books
Can limit by language, date, full view, but limits may not be accurate. Searches within full text.
- MSU Library Catalog Advanced Search
Limit to French language for books/ebooks with at least some content in French.
- MLA Bibliography
Indexes journal articles on French (and other) literature topics
Can limit to French language articles in the left hand or use the box to the left.
- Historical Abstracts
Citations to world history articles from 1450 to the present including French history. Can limit to French language.
Images of artwork. Can limit by nation and time period.
- CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Art images that are rights-cleared for educational use, but no country or date limits.
- Europeana: France
Images, text, video, and sound for European cultural object. Can limit by country and date.
- Oxford Music Online
Encyclopedic coverage musicians, musical periods, musicology. Search by composer or search France and find time period or topic links in that article.
- Music Online
Listen to music from France from various centuries. Some scores included. Search by composer or piece. Limit by broad time period.
Let us know of other useful resources you find, and we can add it to this page.