Skip to main content
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

MSU Library Services for Faculty

Discover the services the library provides in research & publication, teaching & learning, and technology services.

Mission & Vision

MSU Library Logo

Mission

We support and advance teaching, learning, and research for Montana State University and the people of Montana by providing access to information and knowledge.

Vision

We are a dynamic, adaptive, and responsive research library. We aspire to build innovative digital and physical spaces where our diverse communities can access and apply information to grow intellectually, build meaningful collaborations, communicate ideas, and envision a better future for Montana and beyond.

Let Us Help You!

The MSU Library offers research and information resources to students, faculty, and staff. Because we are a land-grant institution, the MSU Library facility is open to the public, and serves as an information resource for Montana citizens and the state's business community. 

Conveniently located in the center of campus, the MSU Library has a full range of library collections and services, including over 140 public computer workstations, printers, scanners, technology-rich group study rooms, quiet study areas, and the Innovative Learning Studio (ILS) designed for collaborative learning. Knowledgeable and friendly professional librarians and staff provide assistance using the collections, access to online information resources, and instruction for individuals and groups.

Research & Publication Support

We can help you with all aspects of the research or publication cycle.


" "Purchase Requests

We collect resources on demand; simply submit a purchase request! We also accept requests for database trials

" "Request It!

Get articles and books via Interlibrary Loan

" "Publication Support

Find the right place to publish your research

" "Open Access Author Fund

Financial support for open access publishing

" "Copyright & Author's Rights

Copyrights, permissions, and author agreement consulting

" "​ScholarWorks

Make your research accessible in our open access institutional repository

" "Data Management

Data publication and data management plan consulting

Teaching & Learning Resources

We can help you with classroom and online instruction.


" "Library Instruction

Request interactive research classes tailored to your assignments

" "Information Literacy Tutorials

Video and interactive tutorials with optional quizzes that can be embedded into Brightspace

" "Librarians

Work with knowledgeable faculty librarians

" "Innovative Learning Studio (ILS)

Reserve this technology-rich work space for collaborative learning

" "Open Educational Resources Grants

The initiative will fund grants to migrate existing course materials for undergraduate classes to open educational resources (OER).

" "Online & Physical Collections

Access research materials, including articles, books, databases, streaming video, archives, and journals

Technology Services

We can help you with a wide range of information technologies.


" "Technology Checkouts

Laptops, iPads, GoPros, digital cameras, headphones, calculators, and more

" "Innovative Learning Studio

iPads, laptops, Apple TV, wireless short throw projectors, wall-to-wall whiteboards, 5 large monitors

Virtual Discovery Space

Large monitors, Virtual Reality equipment and dozens of VR apps

" "Citation Management

Download EndNote or use our Mendeley institutional account to manage literature reviews and citation styles

" "Online Surveys

Qualtrics & REDCap are available for online surveys and data collection

" "Workshops

Face-to-face and online workshops on EndNote, Excel, and other topics

" "Online Learning Tools

Tutorials for business, software, technology, and creative skills from Lynda.com