Library Services
Ask a Librarian
Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? Stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) to ask or use the other options below.
EndNote Web
EndNote Web, a free, online bibliographic management and formatting software, can help you manage citations and references throughout the process of writing a research paper.
- Organize references to cite in papers
- Format bibliographies in APA, MLA, Chicago, and hundreds of other styles
- Store references from Web of Science and other databases.
See additional links below for more information and help.
Other Citation Tools
There are many other options for managing citations, both fee and free. Here are a few choices.
- EndNote X5 (Desktop)Commercial version
- MendeleyCan save and annotate PDFs
- Zotero: Firefox Plugin
CatSearch: Search Faster - Search Smarter
Use CatSearch to search journal articles, newspapers, books, ebooks, dissertations, and other resources.
Key Databases
- Compendex Engineering journal articles and proceedings. Largest engineering database
- Knovel Hundreds of engineering & science handbooks in full text: properties, formulas, and equations
- Web of ScienceBroad coverage of science, engineering, and social science journals, with citation searching
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital LibraryFull text ASTM standards and some ASTM journals, Symposia Papers, Special Technical Publications, and manuals.
- Dissertations and Theses: Full TextInternational doctoral dissertations and a few masters’ theses. Citations back to 1861. Full text from about 1997. Covers all subjects.
- MSU Electronic Theses & Dissertations See what others have done at MSU
- Google ScholarProxied link so that "Check MSU Availability" shows up. Useful adjunct search that hits some full text results that other databases miss.
Chemical & Biological Engineering
- SciFinder Web Chemistry articles, patents, properties, and reactions. Most comprehensive chemistry database. NOTE: Must register first!
- Web of Knowledge CombinedCombines searches of Web of Science, Medline, Biological Abstracts, and Zoological Record for extensive biological engineering coverage.
Civil & Construction Engineering
- MAD-CAD Full-text online building codes
Electrical & Computer Engineering
- Inspec Research in physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology. Very large dataase.
- IEEE Xplore Electrical engineering and computing journals, proceedings, and standards
Database to Article
Schematic of using "Check MSU Availbility" from a database to get to the full text of an article.

Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Suggest Additional Links
Is something missing from this guide? Send suggestions for additional links using this form.




Submit
Loading...
